Weekly roundup

It’s been a strange week with one thing and another.  My Step-Dad’s Mum, who is 103, has been in a brilliant care home for the past 4 years.  A couple of weeks ago she had a heart attack, but being as though she has a DNR (do not resuscitate) order she wasn’t hospitalized and was cared for in the home.  Ten days ago it looked like she was passing away but the nurse inserted a drip and gave her antibiotics for a chest infection and she rallied.  I do wish the nurse hadn’t intervened because all it achieved was to drag her dying out.  Five days ago the Doctor went to see her and took the drip and meds away.  My Dad has sat faithfully by her bedside ever since and she finally passed away last night.  She’s never liked either me or my Mum for reasons unknown and I’ll go as far as to say she’s been a right bitch to both of us so it’s not like I’m sad about her death, however my Dad will be devastated.  No matter how old or how ill, our Mums are still our Mums.

We had a couple of dry(ish) days at the start of the week so I managed to get a few much needed jobs done in the garden.  It’s rained here in Cumbria almost non-stop for about 6 weeks now and was so cold last night I’ve woken to condensation on my bedroom windows.  FFS, does it not know it’s the middle of bloody summer??!

Thursday I took a friend from Camera  Club to photograph red squirrels at a secret location I don’t shout about.  They’re so cute I could watch them all day.  By mid afternoon I’d started with tummy pain and was a bit flummoxed as to what could be causing it.  It got worse as the day progressed, which is all I needed as I was having 5 other camera club members round to my house in the evening for a meeting about next season’s programme.  The meeting went ahead but I was feeling pretty ropey and couldn’t wait for them all to leave so’s I could get into bed with a hot water bottle.  My period pain always starts initially with stomach pain, but I thought I was only on about day 9 or 10 of my cycle so it couldn’t be that.  Er, wrong!  Woke the next morning to Aunt Flo and when I checked my diary I was actually on day 24 of my cycle – doesn’t seem like two bloody minutes since the last one!  Consequently I was awake for most of Friday night with awful endo-related period pain and a migraine which hung around through most of Saturday.

My lovely furry child Bertie turned 9 this week 🙂  I adopted him when he was 2½ and have no clue where those six years have gone!  I also have no idea what I did with my time or money before I got him but wouldn’t swap him for the world.  It’s because of him I got into photography and for that I will always be grateful.  He is my loyal and faithful companion and as I type this, sitting up in my bed, he is asleep between my knees with his head resting on my thigh.  I love him to the moon and back even though he pinches food the second my back is turned, eats sheep shit then licks my face and barks so much he’s in danger of perforating my eardrums 😉

Today is forecast to be dry and, dare I say it, even a little bit sunny so I’m palming the dog off with my Mum and taking my photography hide down to the river.  In the past 12 months I’ve managed to get good pictures of a red squirrel and a heron, both of which have been on my bucket list for the past 4 years but I still haven’t managed a picture of a Kingfisher.  I know where one is currently perching every day at noon, so I’m hoping if I keep going to where I know he hangs out I’ll eventually manage a shot.  Wish me luck!

7 thoughts on “Weekly roundup

  1. Sarah

    It’s a weird one. I don’t know what to say about your step granny. 😐 Sorry to hear about her death I suppose. And sorry for your step dad. People seem to think older people are the kind old granny sitting in a rocking chair, knitting having baked a victoria sponge. They are in fact people and can be very opinionated. I find the older generation are the ones who stare as I park up in the disabled bay.
    I looked on Redbubble where you sell your stuff. The photos are beautiful, I’ve got my eye on a couple (loved the black and white church window one) but I’m waiting for the picture of the 3 water balloons bursting as that’s my favourite. Hint hint 😉 (Get your arse in gear and get it on there, lol. No pressure 😁)
    I hope you’ve had a good day and caught some fantastic images x

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jak Post author

      Funnily enough the church window is one of my best sellers, I have no idea why! I should do more pictures of churches, after all I live next door to one 😉

      I am trying to update the site, but have been feeling so rubbish brain-wise it’s hard. With so much merchandise for each photo it takes ages just to do one picture, so bear with me! x

      Like

      Reply
      1. Sarah

        Will do.
        Maybe the church window one is popular because it’s “moody” as it’s black and white.
        I don’t know but maybe some of the scenery ones like light coming through the trees,bridges or buildings may lend themselves to being in black and white.
        Look at me, trying to be an art critic 😂 I need to get out more

        Like

        Reply
  2. Laetitia Lalila

    Hi Jak,
    I’m sorry to hear about your father’s loss. He seems such a lovely guy, and with his illness and all I’m sure this is going to take a toll. You said it best, out Mums are still our Mums. My heart goes out to him, and my thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

    Sorry to hear about your perios also. It DOES seem like your always tortured by it, I wish that your menoapause comes soon, as it is long over due! Bertie looks super adorable on the other hand, he looks more like a toy than a dog. ^_^

    Looking forward to your nature pics, they are always so beautiful! And good luck with the Kingfisher, I have a feeling that you will get him! 🙂
    xoxo

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jak Post author

      Thanks for the kind words Laetitia. And I have news…….I got him!!! The Kingfisher 🙂 Not the best picture in the world but at least I managed to capture him. Will post a picture in next week’s roundup x

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Comment

