Food Fads

I very rarely have the time, or more importantly mental energy, to visit and read other blogs much as I would love to (and I do genuinely mean I would love to) but every now and again I’ll click on the link of an article I’m interested in which takes me to someone’s blog.  I’m always gobsmacked (and a little jealous 😉 ) to see how many ‘likes’ some blog posts get and they’re nearly always food related.  The more deprived the diet, the more earth shatteringly boring, the more ‘clean’ (whatever the hell that is supposed to mean), the more lacking in any taste or more importantly fun, the more ‘likes’ it seems to get.  I find it fascinating.  And, if I’m honest, fucking nuts.

My best friend has Coeliac disease and can’t eat gluten.  It could give her stomach cancer and the last time she inadvertently ate something with gluten in she threw up for six hours straight.  Eating out is a bloody nightmare.  Even though cafes and restaurants have to legally declare the most common allergens in their foods you still can’t trust that they’re going to be gluten free – in fact, the meal which caused her to throw up for six hours was from a cafe which specializes in gluten-free food!  My mate would like nothing more than to be able to eat regular bread, pasta, porridge oats and proper doughnuts and not have to examine every label in the supermarket like some kind of obsessive stalker, and thinks people who don’t have Coaeliac disease but who still don’t eat gluten need to be sectioned.

I myself would kill to be able to eat whatever I like.  You have no idea how much I miss chocolate, tinned tuna, chopped tomatoes/passata, aubergines, orange juice, baby spinach and most of all creamy, melted, cheddar cheese (I swear I’m drooling just thinking about it).  But if I do I’m liable to have anaphylaxis and pass out before coming to and puking my guts up.

My friend and I are totally and utterly baffled by the current fad of cutting out major food groups like gluten/grains and dairy for no bloody good reason.  It’s one thing if you have lactose intolerance or Coeliac Disease and quite another to deprive yourself of these wonderful, filling, nutritious foods if you do not.  And don’t get me started on ridiculous fads like medjool dates, chia seeds and raw cacao.  If you’re going to have a dessert have a goddamn dessert – one that makes you feel warm and satiated and adds 2lbs to your hips 😉

I mean, who in their right mind would choose ice cream made from mashed up coconut when you can have delicious jersey cow ice cream, preferably laden with mint choc chips?
Who would choose pretend couscous made from cauliflower when you can have lovely soft, doughy, pasta instead?
And who, pray tell me, would choose to eat a cacao protein ball when you can have chocolate fudge cake with lashings of double cream?!

Life is too fucking short my friends.  Way, way too short.

If I had a tenner for every time someone’s written in to my blog and told me to cut out gluten and dairy I’d be rich.  Quite how cutting out these 2 important food groups is going to help my incurable, genetic diseases, or my brain injury, I’m not sure but there seems to be a ludicrous myth going around that diet is the cause and cure of all disease.  Got a brain tumour, eat these 3 foods and watch it disappear!  Got bowel cancer – well, you shouldn’t have eaten that doughnut back in 1992!  It’s so unbelievably stupid I have no idea why it’s so popular.  Actually, I think I do know.  It has nothing to do with food and everything to do with control.

We control very little in our lives these days.  Jobs are scarce and no longer for life.  Nearly half of marriages end in divorce.  Many of us can’t afford our own homes so have to rent, meaning we can be kicked out at any time.  Cancer affects 1 in 3 of us yet no-one knows the cause.  The world can be a chaotic and scary place and one over which we appear to have very little control.  Is it any wonder, then, that we are obsessed by the one thing we can control – the food we put in our mouths.

I can only write from my own experience and my own experience is that life is a game of Russian Roulette.  My mum started smoking aged 14, made an art form out of eating processed foods and is now a raging alcoholic.  We were told 5 years ago she was terminally ill yet she is still here.  Her sister never smoked, didn’t drink and made every single thing she ate from scratch (her seeded bread was ridiculously good), yet she died of ovarian cancer five years ago.  One of my good friends didn’t smoke, practiced yoga, rarely drank, was slim, fit……and died from Colitis at the age of 60.  My next door neighbour smokes like a chimney, eats sweets all day and is 90 this month.  My Nanna hasn’t exercised a day in her life for over 40 years, has been diabetic for 20 years yet eats cakes and biscuits like they’re going out of fashion…….and she’s just turned 104 and aside from being confused.com doesn’t ail a thing.  I haven’t eaten meat since 1991, don’t drink, have eaten organic foods for over two decades…….yet I’m as sick as a dog.  There’s no rhyme or reason to any of it, and if I had a choice I’d eat whatever the hell I fancied.  I’d drink cider.  Stuff my face with sour cream ‘n chive Pringles and binge on Jelly Babies and white Toblerone.  Ahhhh, the good old days 😉

I know nearly all the people who read my blog have either HIT, MCAD, ME or EDS all of which can mean a restricted diet with no choice in the matter, so please don’t think I’m aiming my blog post at you all.  It’s everyone else!  Annoying people like Gwyneth bloody Paltrow who should be shot at dawn, and all the other money making food bloggers, usually under 35, female, slim and pretty who are making a small fortune out of not having a single nutritional qualification (Gwyneth’s only qualification for writing books on food, for example, is that she’s eaten since the day she was born).

I’m not alone in my cynicism either as this brilliant post demonstrates.  Obviously eating a healthy, *balanced*, diet is good for you and eating too much crap makes you overweight and prone to diabetes but as for food causing or curing disease it’s nonsense.   For a start people in different countries eat very different diets, yet we all get the same diseases – how does that work if food is the cause or the cure? I do wish people weren’t quite so gullible and happy to believe everything they read on t’internet like it’s some kind of fact, when it’s nothing of the kind.   Whatever happened to common sense?

I’m ill and I do understand the need to be in control of something, anything but I swear to God if I could still eat Aubergine Parmigiano washed down with a cold glass of Australian Chardonnay I bloody well would and I’d cherish every mouthful 🙂  I hate every second of being on a restricted diet and it baffles me why anyone would choose it if they didn’t have to.

 

 

14 thoughts on “Food Fads

  1. Glo

    I agree with you a million percent!! This does seem to be especially true with younger people. My son comes immediately to mind. Granted he may actually have some problems given his genetic background but I’m pretty sure this is just fad dieting. I’ve seen what he eats and know that he drinks alcohol. Yet he swings from diet to diet which always makes him feel better until the next one comes along. The same is true for a young woman I work with. Stop it!! All of you!! I also wish gwennth would go bury herself in a cave for a decade or so.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Sarah

    With regards to the like button, when you hit it another tab opens and you need to fill out your email and password, which I can’t remember, so I can’t “like” your pages
    Hope that sheds some light

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jak Post author

      Thanks Sarah. Sadly only WordPress users can use the like button on a free WordPress blog. It may be different for blogs which people own, so that makes me feel better 😉

      Like

      Reply
  3. carmensnip

    I get the frustration. In my experience though, many people who focus on food do have symptoms for which they have no answer. Then they try different diets to see if they can find relief. It’s understandable.

    Sometimes there is a lesser known physical cause for our symptoms and reactions to /obsessions with foods. Who knows, how many of those ‘health food’ seekers are actually suffering from histamine intolerance or mastocytosis and not aware of it?

    I didn’t know what was wrong with me until I finally discovered about histamine intolerance, MCAS, EDS, etc.

    While I don’t have Celiac/ Coeliakie or a dairy allergy, still, I am miserable as hell when I eat gluten or dairy and recover when I omit these from my diet. (Cannot always resist the temptation)
    Some people just lack the pancreas enzymes to break down certain proteins. As you know, it’s not all in our heads. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Jak Post author

      I understand your point, but when I got ill I tracked down the cause of my illness. If someone’s feeling unwell surely they should be investigating the cause of their illness? While not eating high histamine food helps my symptoms it’s not the cause of my symptoms and it’s not ever going to cure me – my faulty immune system is the cause of my symptoms and it’s vitally important to know that x

      Like

      Reply
      1. carmensnip

        Yes, you’re absolutely right about that. It’s just not so easy to find that cause. It took me a few decades.
        I thought I was just sensitive to certain foods, which increased over time. I had never heard of Ehlers Danlos. Never thought of my bendiness, long fingers and toes in relation to a disease. Weak connective tissue, yes, but I had close to 70 other symptoms and health issues. I never connected them together. So, to me, it all seemed food and stress related. I looked at symptoms separately, as did my doctor. Plus I blamed myself for being weak, for not exercising enough, not eating healthy enough, etc.

        We cannot know what someone is struggling with. We all walk our path to find out what’s wrong and try to get better. I feel we shouldn’t blame people for assuming food may be a major factor.

        People who can eat what they want without any problem, are usually not the ones that are trying out different diets. They have no cause. It’s the food-sensitive ones, who don’t know what causes their distress.

        More information is getting out there. Probably within 10 years, most people will be informed about EDS, MCAD, and the lot. Even the possibility of having a histamine intolerance should become more common knowledge. I keep my hopes up for that. And for progress in treatments. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. Jak Post author

          I know you’re new to my blog, so just to warn you I find the world in general irritating and tend to rant a lot 😉 It’s pointless trying to be rational with me, especially when I’m hormonal lol!

          In all seriousness, my blog is my place to get stuff off my chest and I write blog posts without analysing them or being politically correct, or thinking about anyone else’s thoughts, experiences or feelings on any particular subject. I blog to get stuff off my chest so that I can get along with the people in my real life without losing my cool with them and it seems to be working – only 2 arguments with my alcoholic mother in five years is quite good going when you’re menopausal 😉

          I don’t mean to offend anyone with my posts, and appreciate our experiences are all different, but I can only write about my own thoughts on life because it’s my life I lead. Jak x

          Like

          Reply
  4. d

    Hi Jak

    Great post. I agree, why would you ever restrict yourself from foods if there is no reason to do so? There was an article in the news here recently about restaurants starting to not believe people when they tell them they have food intolerances because so many people are pretending to have allergies in order to have specialized meals. I’ve been asked if my intolerances are a “preference”. Those that pretend are doing a real disservice to those that have to eat restricted diets and confusing the hell out of kitchens everywhere. Often they make choices that are counter to what they just told their server. That resulting confusion could end up making another customer sick because the server and the kitchen aren’t being given good information about what should and should not be done with particular food intolerances or allergies.

    Life is short – eat everything (if you can)!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jak Post author

      Yes d, you get it! That’s what happened to my Coeliac friend. I think this cafe had been catering to food intolerance and just weren’t taking the whole gluten-free thing seriously when for her it’s life or death serious! x

      Like

      Reply
  5. carmensnip

    In addition: In the field of epigenetics there are interesting studies that show that changes in genetics (albeit phenotypes) are possible, even by external factors like radiation, toxins, and foods

    Foods may or may not be able to cure genetic diseases, but they sure can make us feel better or worse. Finding which food does what is apparently an individual quest, different for each of us.
    Just my two cents.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Livvy Woodburn

    Have you seen the film Hypernormalisation? I think this is making the same point as you re control of self in an out of control world. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Jak Post author

      Never heard of it Livvy but having had a look will definitely try and watch! I’ve often thought how fake our world is and how much we focus on irrelevant shite whilst ignoring what’s really important, so it sounds right up my street. I think that’s why I lose myself in nature so much – it’s real to me. The life, struggle for survival, finding food, rearing of young and ultimately death *is* life – everything else is irrelevant! x

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. Laetitia Lalila

    Ha ha ha, very funny post Jak, and also, so very true. I especially liked the Gwyneth part, hysterical!!! 😀 Also, funny how the food posts gather a lot of attention, maybe you should do more of them, heh?
    Hugs,

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Comment

