Weekly roundup

We’ve had an unexpected heat wave this week and it’s been fabulous.  I feel so much better in warm (not hot!), sunny weather with more energy and less pain, not to mention the psychological boost.  The Farmers aren’t quite so happy though, as they’ve recently planted summer crops and we’ve hardly had a drop of rain for 6 weeks now.  Combine that with a week’s worth of 26C heat and the seedlings are all suffering.  It’s due to cool back down to the usual 15C tomorrow but there’s still not much rain due, which is great for me but bad for the plants!

I mercifully didn’t feel any ill effects from my endoscopy, other than having a very sore throat and diaphragm for a few days.  In fact, due to the fabulous weather my energy has been great this week and I’ve managed to do a little bit of gardening, potting up some tender summer flowers that I’d grown from seed in my kitchen windowsill.  Bertie helped, by pinching mouthfuls of fresh new soil out of the pots and eating it.  He’s a strange boy 😉

The arm on my distance glasses broke this week and aren’t fixable, so I’m having to fork out £160 for a new pair.  I’m stony broke as I’ve been buying a Father’s Day gift for my Dad and presents for my Mum’s birthday next month and really didn’t need the expense :-/  I got my Dad a simple Pedometer so he can see how far he’s walked when he goes up the fells each week, but I’ve tried it out myself first because he’ll ask me how to set it up and use it and I had no clue.  I’ve worn it for 5 days now and am amazed by the results.  I’m sedentary obviously and there’s no way I’ll ever be doing the recommended 10,000 steps a day, but actually I’m more mobile than I realized and it’s surprising how the steps taken pottering around the house and garden mount up, all of which help to keep my muscles and heart healthy 🙂

Monday’s torture aside, it’s been a lovely quiet week and it’s been great to be out on my scooter without having to be trussed up like the Michelin Man to keep out the cold.  I really don’t have anything to tell you, which is great because it means there’s been no drama and weeks without drama seem to be few and far between.  I have had an email from the genetics company 23andme which has made me think about genes in general and I’m intending to do a post about that this week.  It’s also half term holidays and I’m hoping to do some more photos with my friend’s kids, so that will keep me out of mischief.   But right now I’m off to make some breakfast cos my stomach thinks my throat’s been cut 😉

 

 

2 thoughts on “Weekly roundup

Leave a Comment

