Weekly roundup

It’s officially the end of my stay-cation and I am officially exhausted, which wasn’t quite the plan!  It is, in large part, self-inflicted though because I’ve waaaayyyy over-done it so I really can’t complain……well, apart from the fact I have my period, which isn’t self-inflicted in any way and is making me feel absolutely and utterly rubbish.  I have barely slept all week due to hormone induced night sweats and a whizzing brain, a 3 day migraine and awful back/pelvic pain but apart from all that I’ve still had fun 😉

Last Sunday I attended a family lunch as my cousin and his family were over from Australia having emigrated to Perth 13 years ago.  My cousin became a Grandad recently and he wanted to bring his Grandson over to meet us all as he is the only male descendent left who still bares our family name.  For my grandparents to have 7 children, 19 grandchildren, 26 great-grandchildren and 14 great-great grandchildren and only one of those is male and carries their last name seems unbelievable to me!

Monday was a bank holiday here in the UK and the weather was uncharacteristically nice for spring, so I dumped poor Bertie with my parents and spent a few hours taking photos at various locations.  Herons here in sparsely populated Cumbria are very shy birds, who will vamoose if they spot a human half a mile way, so I have tried unsuccessfully for 4 years now to get a decent picture of one and failed miserably.  But I am nothing if not determined, so I got set up under a camouflage net with my camera on a tripod and just sat, and sat, and sat until one appeared on the river near my house and I was lucky enough to catch a few snaps before some walkers came along and scared him off again!  It’s still not the best picture in the world but I think it’s as good as I’m going to get.  I sat for so long I literally lost all feeling in my legs and fell over when I tried to stand up.  I also don’t think my hips, back or neck will ever be the same again 😉

Tuesday I had to go for my yearly eye exam, but thankfully all is well and I don’t need any new glasses which is just as well as I am absolutely and utterly broke.  Tuesday night I started with a migraine which lasted for nearly 48 hours.

Thursday my Groomer came to the house to clip Bertie who desperately needed his summer haircut.  He’s so good at being bathed and clipped, but all the dog hair floating around afterward makes me itch like mad (I’m actually allergic to dogs!) so I had to have a shower and put fresh clothes on!

Friday I had another migraine.  Oh joy.

Saturday was my parent’s wedding anniversary and they’d offered to take me out for lunch, which would have been lovely if my Mum wasn’t already drunk by the time I picked them up at 11.30am.  She doesn’t get up til 9am, so how the hell can she be drunk less than 3 hours later? *sigh*

Today I’m taking my scooter in the boot of my car and visiting a local bluebell wood with a friend from Camera club.  I don’t think we’ll get any nice shots as it’s sadly very overcast, but my friend hasn’t been before so we’ll go for an hour and can always go back on a better day if needs be.

In-between all that (!) I’ve been fiddling with the photos I took of my friend’s daughter and promised one of my readers I’d put the pictures up here for them to see:

The top one I’m just calling ‘Alice’ as it has an Alice in Wonderland playing card theme.  The bottom one is called ‘Forgotten Doll’ and is a bit creepy, but creepy is fine by me 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “Weekly roundup

  1. That Other Jean

    Whew! Your stay-cations are amazingly busy. No wonder you’re exhausted. Good thing you had some fun, though.

    I used to get migraines, but they’re down to about two a year. I don’t know how you stand it.

    Your photographs are wonderful I love the heron; congratulations on your patience–it certainly paid off. And if you were going for creepy with “Forgotten Doll,” you nailed it.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jak Post author

      I used to have 2-4 migraines a week Jean, and now I’m down to 2-4 a month so that’s a huge improvement for me. I lived with a permanent headache for about 8 years after I had meningitis – it was no fun. Jak x

      Like

      Reply
  2. Nitin Khanna

    Excellent Work. All the Pictures are so good to watch. And As an Photographer i can understand how much important it is to capture perfect portrait and make them creative. It’s a Difficult task. Appreciate your hard work and efforts.. Even i always try to capture Portrait Pictures but i am not that perfect like you. Have a look at my work at http://www.nitinkhanna.net/ and let me know how you find it. I would love to hear from photographer like you. Thanks You

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Comment

