The madness of Brexit

I’ve been quite unwell this week and not up to doing much.  In my boredom I went online for a gander around, only to see yet more whinging about Brexit.  Grow the fuck up people.

Some of my friends, whose opinions I respect very much, were joining in and behaving like 5 year olds in a school playground and slagging off anyone who voted to leave the EU.  I myself voted to Remain and when I woke the morning of the result to find we were leaving was quite frankly scared.  However I have the utmost respect for those who chose to Leave.  Far from being “stupid” as Remainers seem to want to portray them, some of my very intelligent business owning Times reading friends chose to Leave, including every farmer I’ve ever spoken to.  Farmers are very business savvy – only last week I spoke to one who said that they were so fed up of being dictated to by Brussels, and of the legion of paperwork involved now in farming, that he choose to leave.  He stated he knows this may reduce the market for his products, he knew the pound would be affected and he knows there will be less subsidies, yet he left anyway.  He also had worries over uncontrolled economic migration which, having spoken to lots of Brexiteers, is a common thread (I wonder how many Remainers have actually spoken, and more importantly listened, to those who voted to leave?).  Anyhoo, back to my main gripe at how absolutely ungracious some of the Remainers are being to their fellow citizens.  The micky taking, the mud slinging and assuming people are thick is just plain rude and makes me furious.

One of the gripes of the Remain camp is that the Referendum was illegal.  The fact is, we’ve actually been in the EU illegally from day one – see this article.  There was no Referendum to join what was then the Common Market in 1972, which was unconstitutional.  To put this right, the Prime Minister had a retrospective Referendum in 1975 to join something we’d already joined.  So it can be argued that we’re not illegally leaving the EU because we were never legally part of the EU in the first place.  A Referendum was absolutely and constitutionally needed in the case of Brexit – for anyone who really wants to get to the nitty gritty of why, please see this article.  Some people are arguing that the public were ill-informed on many aspects of leaving, but then in 1975 we were equally ill-informed about many aspects of joining!  We joined a common market of 8 countries to help us trade with one another.   We were not told that it would become a European Parliament consisting of 28 countries, that we would have free borders letting in 100,000 new people every year and that politicians from other countries would make laws which affect the fundamental rights of UK citizens.  Call me psychic, but if someone had told us that back in 1975 I’m fairly sure we would not have touched the European Union with a 10 foot pole.

Another gripe is that lies were told during the Referendum which swayed voter’s views.  I agree wholeheartedly that lies were told (on both sides!), but not that we were all daft enough to believe them because they are, sadly, par for the course in any political setting.  David Cameron lied through his pearly white teeth in the 2010 Election.  His party’s manifesto pledged to help disabled people live independently and promised to maintain disability living allowance and attendance allowance.   He then went on to dismantle Remploy and the Independent Living Fund thereby making thousands of disabled people unemployed and unable to live independently, and changed DLA to PIP with a promise to halve the number of disabled people who qualified for the new benefit thereby plunging them into poverty.  Yet is anything said about these lies?  That would be a no.  We just accept that politicians will lie during campaigns and then not stick to their promises once elected.  No-one is screaming from the rooftops that the General Election was unfair are they, even though it blatantly was?  I voted Labour, but the day after the Conservatives won I didn’t stamp my feet like a 2 year old who hadn’t gotten her own way and then start slagging off every Conservative voter in the country (although I admit I did question what on earth they were thinking!) and demand a re-count or a second election.  I accept that in a democratic country I will sometimes have to live with the majority vote, even when I violently disagree with it to the very core of my soul.

The thing I understand the least is why anyone would still think being part of Europe is a good thing after the reaction of some of the European leaders to our Decision.  French President Francois Hollande has been particularly vocal, saying “there must be a threat, there must be a risk, there must be a price,” for choosing to leave the European club.  He, and other EU leaders such as Germany’s Merkel, could make our departure from Europe easy.  They could ensure that the UK prospers outside the EU.  But they are choosing a different road.  They are making us pay for wanting to leave their gang.  They are going to make me, my parents, my family and my friends “suffer”.  They want to see my country fail.  They are actively going out of their way to hurt babies, old people, sick people, vulnerable people, Scottish people and everyone else.   And yet some British citizens still want us to be part of their gang and for these leaders to be making decisions about our futures.  Is it just me who thinks that’s absolute madness?!

If there were a 2nd Referendum tomorrow I would not vote to Remain.  This time I would vote to Leave.  I don’t want people who are committed to hurting me and my country to have any kind of say over how I live.

There is much work ahead to ensure our country prospers after Brexit.  None of which will be helped by fighting, mud-slinging, bitching, whining and general nastiness.  The Referendum is done, a democratic decision was made and we all need to pull together to make it work.   At least, as intelligent grown-ups that’s what we should be doing.  And as someone who loves her country that’s what I’ll be doing even though leaving wasn’t my personal choice.

2 thoughts on “The madness of Brexit

  1. gillsnatter

    The problem (I believe) lies in the lies. We are immune to them. So remainers standing up quoting those lies are actually fighting for truths and in my opinion it would a triumph over the history of lies and maybe help towards to lessening in future. If we continue to accept the lies, we cannot complain, we may as well shut up and put up. It took Brexit to incite enough fury to make enough people speak up. I hope it never ends. I hope the government (all the parties) learn a lesson. With love ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Jak Post author

      I’m much more concerned about the lies told in the 2010 election. Our Government are elected to have our best interests at heart and to look after the people they represent (unlike Merkel and Hollande who we did not elect and clearly do not have our best interests at heart). Where is the fury of the nation that Cameron lied so blatantly to the most vulnerable in society? If it’s about lies then surely we should start there? Jak x

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Comment

