Weekly Roundup

GingerbreadI know I haven’t put any new recipes on the site in forever, but my regular readers will know that these days if I have the energy to try new foods I don’t have the time, and if I have the time I don’t have the energy.  However, I’ve been proper hormonal this past week (my period arrived early) and fancied something nice to nibble, so I made myself a Gingerbread, the recipe for which I’ve placed in the Desserts & Treats section of my blog.  If you don’t want a dark cake, use half treacle and half golden syrup but I personally love the richness of using all treacle.  If you want it spicier, just add more ginger.  It does do best if you wrap it in foil and leave it for 48 hours before eating, but I can never wait that long 😉  It also freezes well.

I also made some Cauliflower couscous this week, after being inspired by an ASDA advert on the telly.  I love the taste of cold raw Cauli, so just broke it into florets and whizzed it in the food processor until it looked the size and texture of Couscous, but you can add anything you like to it – spring onions, beans, roasted red peppers, seeds, nuts, herbs……..the sky’s the limit.  You could also mix it with my Chinese Honey Sauce (see Jams & Sauces section for recipe) for a hot n sour mixture.   I made a Spicey Bean Casserole to go with my Cauli and it was delish:

Cauliflower couscousI had another Orthotics appointment on Thursday to discuss my custom made insoles.  Despite modifications they’re still unusable, making the soles of my feet so painful after just an hour of use I can barely walk.  So it looks like I’m scuppered and we’re not going to be able to find insoles which correct my inturned knees and hips without causing problems elsewhere.  Bugger and double bugger.  So I’m sticking with the D30 insoles I can buy myself online, but I’m going to try and add a small arch support myself from previous ‘trial’ insoles I was given by Podiatry.  As my knees are now both painful, however, I’m using knees supports for strength and stabilization – the ones I’ve found best are from the Boots Pharmaceuticals range, as I can wear them over the top of my jeans and leggins and find them really comfortable.  The stretchy ones placed next to my skin cause my to Dermographism to go nuts and itch me so much I can’t wear them.

I had a bit of a scare on Saturday morning.  I was out walking Bertie when all of a sudden he sat down and starting licking his back leg.  It became obvious he couldn’t bear any weight on it and I had to carry him back to the car, which nearly killed me as he weighs 10 kilos (22lbs) and we were in the middle of nowhere.  I got him back to the house and had a good look at his foot but could find nothing wrong.  He was obviously in distress though and still couldn’t weight bare.  Ordinarily I’d give him some paracetomol and wait to see what happens, but on Saturdays the Vet shuts at lunchtime so I decided to have him looked at just in case it was something which needed treatment.  We drove the 20 minutes to the Surgery, with Bertie still licking his foot and holding it pitifully in the air, only for him to jump out of the car when we got there like nothing was wrong – I wanted to kill him!  The Vet thinks he’d been stung and just gave me some Calpol for the pain.  So our little sojourn this morning cost me £21 I didn’t have – the most expensive teaspoon of paracetomol in the known universe!

As I said at the start of my post, my period arrived all out of the blue this week on day 19 of my cycle.  I definitely think things are shifting again hormone-wise in recent months, which may be the reason I’m having more migraines than usual.  The good news is these short cycles tend to be slightly less painful than a regular cycle though this one has left me feeling very tired and muzzy headed.  I’ve been in peri-menopause for 4 years now but don’t seem to be making any progress towards actual Menopause.

I woke with some belting bruises on my legs this week, with not a clue how they’d been made.  I feel like the protagonist in the Princess & The Pea story, who sleeps on top of 20 mattresses only to wake black and blue the next morning because a pea had been placed under the bottom one.  Now I just need my Prince to come and marry me 😉

Ehlers-Danlos bruise

7 thoughts on “Weekly Roundup

  1. brokendownbody

    I want to leave you a big reply about how useful your blog has been to me as someone with EDS-HT and possibly naughty mast cells (waiting to see an immunologist) but my hands are killing me and typing with my compression gloves on is hard, itchy work!!

    I have a question – what are the Boots knee supports like for size? I’ve bought other brands online which i measured for and i couldn’t even get them over my ankle!! Embarrassing.

    Also, My feet/ankles are terrible and I manage quite well with blue superfeet insoles – i have no idea if they are good or bad but they keep me more upright and stop my feet getting so sore 😀

    Ren x

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jak Post author

      Hi Ren

      So pleased my blog is helpful – most of the time I feel I just twitter on about absolutely bugger all lol!

      The Boots knee supports are One Size only. Which usually makes me sigh in exasperation because I’m 5ft 2″ and really dainty – I wear gloves for children age 7, that’s how small I am! However, because I’m wearing them over the top of my jeans they’re fine. They have 4 straps that you can tie as loosely or as tightly as you like depending how big your leg is. They do have an inner ‘sleeve’ for comfort, so if you were very overweight this might be an issue, but they are designed to be worn by both men and women so are fairly generous size-wise. Unlike other supports I find they stay in position all day long, regardless of what type of activity I’m doing – I’m currently typing this in bed and am still wearing them!

      Thanks for the tip on the superfeet insoles – I’ve never heard of them so will look them up.

      Jak x

      Like

      Reply
      1. brokendownbody

        I’m 5’6″ and a UK size 14/16, think they’d be alright then? My knees are driving me crazy, and they aren’t even too mobile, they just suffer because my ankles and hips are super mobile. I think my knees are also most affected by my hormones!

        You honestly have no idea how much your mast cell supermarket shopping list has saved me this week. High pollen levels and me eating all the wrong things has destroyed my poor stomach!

        Ren x

        Like

        Reply
        1. Jak Post author

          I’d definitely give them a go – you should be able to get a refund if they don’t fit. They’re on offer atm, buy one get the second half price. My elderly neighbour is a 14/16 and she badly hurt her knee a couple of weeks ago. She got one and says it’s brill and been really helpful.

          Glad you’ve found the shopping list helpful. I found the whole low histamine food thing a minefield when I first started on it (still do really!).

          Jak x

          Like

          Reply
  2. Livvy

    Hi Jak,

    This is completely off post.. But I noticed on your bruise picture of your leg you have the same ‘dotty’ markings on your skin as I in just the same place (above knee / lower thigh) I recently took photos of mine as they have become more pronounced in the last year & I was wondering personally if it was Mast cell related or in fact I was totally loosing it?!! I hadn’t seen them on anyone else til I just saw your photo! I can’t say it is anything to do with the sun because my legs haven’t seen anything but compression tight for the last 5 years!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jak Post author

      Hi Livvy

      I think I’ve always had the dotty skin on the top of my legs, and I also have it on the tops of my arms. No clue what causes it. It doesn’t bother me in any way, ie not sore or itchy, so I’ve never given it a seconds thought if I’m honest. I’m just used to the fact that I’m weird lol!

      Jak x

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Comment

