Weekly roundup

Apologies for my roundup being a day late.  I have had quite a week, which culminated in me being totally computer-less for the whole of Friday, Saturday and Sunday.  As feared, my old laptop was terminal so I’ve had to fork out for a new one.  I was on Windows 7 and have upgraded to Windows 10, with a super quick processor and hybrid SSD – the fear was that some of my programmes wouldn’t work.  I’d been given some really expensive ones, like Lightroom and Microsoft Office Professional and didn’t have the discs to re-install them, so my brilliant engineer simply cloned my old hard drive onto the new machine, then upgraded to Windows 10.  Very clever and it looks and works exactly like my old laptop so my poorly brain doesn’t have to learn anything new 🙂

As a family we’ve had a dreadful week.  My Mum’s youngest brother died out of the blue on Tuesday evening – he had a heart attack while in the shower.  He’s never smoked, didn’t drink, had no health problems, was slim and played loads of golf so got plenty of exercise.  He only retired 4 years ago after working like a demon since he was 15 – it’s just so unfair.  His wife had been with him since she was 14, so as you can imagine she’s bereft and has no idea how she’ll live without him.  I still don’t think it’s sunk in for any of us.

Saturday and Sunday my Camera Club had organized a photography event at a local tourist attraction.  I volunteered to man our exhibition stand for 4 hours on Sat and 3 hours on Sun.  It was too much and I feel dreadful today with a stonking headache.  It didn’t help that I was woken at 3.45am Saturday morning by the farm dog next door barking its head off for over half an hour.  I’d only just got back to sleep when the bloody thing set off again just after 5am.  I was also woken at 5.15am Sunday morning by its howling, all because it’s now warm and I’ve dared to sleep with my bedroom window open.  I’ve been fighting for 4 years with my local Council to get this dog to stop barking at all hours of the day and night with no luck.  My next course of action is a formal complaint about the Council’s usless-ness.  It’s all so exhausting and stressful though 😦  It’s now 3.15pm and I’m typing this in bed with my bedroom window open……..listening to the dog woof its heart out!

My contact lens trial wasn’t a success.  My eyes were too dry for the most moist contact lenses he had.  I need a different type of lens but as yet they don’t make them for astigmatism, so it’s back to my glasses until they do 😦

I woke this morning to find I had a flat tyre on the car.  There’s an Upholstery business at the top of my drive opposite my garage and they use tiny little pointed tacks which they messily leave everywhere.  This is the 4th flat I’ve had in 2 years caused by one of their upholstery pins.  On previous occasions the holes have all been fixable, but this time the puncture was too close to the rim so I needed a whole new tyre – the owner had better flippin re-emburse me for it.

The only highlight to my week was an afternoon spent with my Dad in a local bluebell wood.  The flowers weren’t quite fully out but it was still beautiful and the scent was amazing, we even saw a fairy! 😉

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

7 thoughts on “Weekly roundup

  1. Livvy

    Sorry you had a shite week of Jak, lovely bluebell carpet treat must have made up for it just a little bit tho. Beau photos. 🙂
    Ps interesting heads up on contacts, I’m due to see Opthamology again soon and they mentioned trying them… But not good for dry eyes. Bloody wavy far out vision would be nice if it bogged off!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jak Post author

      If you don’t have astigmatism, and just have near or far sightedness, they should be able to find a lens which is suitable, though it might mean trying 3 or 4 to get ones that suit. I’m really disappointed I can’t wear them as I’m out 365 days a year, usually in the rain, with Bertie and glasses get so covered in water and misted up I can’t see a thing! Jak x

      Like

      Reply
      1. Livvy_sheep

        Sounds well annoying Jak… You do t let it stop you getting good photos tho do you. My husband does night sky photography and I can’t even look up at the stars without them looking like I’ve took an acid trip… So I really admire your determination not to let the bloody illnesses win. I think I have astigmatism in one eye? They’re trying prisms in the glasses atm? I don’t know I don’t understand it all thb – just know eyesight is shite! Doesn’t help the optometrist when I say that. Though they are guessing that eds makes the eye muscles weak, slow, tierd easy and spasmy? 🙈

        Like

        Reply
        1. Jak Post author

          Hi Livvy

          Astigmatism just means that the shape of your eye has altered with age. Instead of being round like a ball it’s more oval shaped, which throws out focus. It’s correctable with just regular glasses, so if you need a prism that would be something different I think.

          Our health problems definitely affect our eyes. As you say, the muscles tired much more easily and we can have particular problems switching from short focus (eg reading) to long focus (eg watching TV) – it takes longer for the eyes to adjust.

          My eyes feel gritty, tired and sore every second of the day.

          Jak x

          Like

          Reply
          1. Livvy_sheep

            Bless you , you know for once when someone says ‘I know how you feel’ I really do. I find ice packs over the eyes help with the pain and some preservative free eye drops from GP. As well as sunglasses. But I’m sure you already know these very basic things! Really just sending very understanding virtual hugs xxxxxx

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
  2. catherine lowe

    hi Jak i have just found your blog ,,,about ,Me ,and EDLS POTS and MCAD ,,,it was just like reading my life.s story ,,,i just have to be diagnosed ,,,going for a tilt table test tomorrow ,,,already been diagnosed with ,ME ,,,but have zero support from my doctor and am at a lose as what to do ,,,not sure if you will get this message as i am terrible when it comes to computers ,and have bad cognative problems ,,,really would like to join in ,,,lets hope you get this message x not sure how i will see your blog as my Email posts are all mixed up with facebook posts ,,,so do not get notifications ,,,but i really need some support quite badly right now as how to deal with the medical profession x

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jak Post author

      Hi Catherine

      Message received 🙂 If you’ve entered your email address and clicked the ‘follow’ button you should receive an email with any new blog posts I write and any response to comments you write.

      Sorry to hear you’re struggling. Unfortunately due to the sheer volulme of people who visit my blog and my own poor health I’m sadly not able to do much on an individual level but if you have any specific questions I’ll do my best to help.

      If you’re in the UK you might find the following useful:
      https://mastcellblog.wordpress.com/guides/primer/
      https://mastcellblog.wordpress.com/links/forums/
      This book for Mast Cell Disease: https://mastcellblog.wordpress.com/2016/04/19/occam/

      Jak x

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Comment

