Weekly roundup

Well my friends, my stay-cation didn’t quite go to plan.  Did I have a lovely, relaxing time slobbing about in my jim jams not doing much of anything?  Er, that would be a big fat no.

The week started off well.  PALS, the Patient Liaison Service at the hospital, were excellent and sorted out my referral to Newcastle for my op within 24 hours of me contacting them.  Apparently I should now hear from the hospital in the next couple of weeks which is a huge weight off my mind – or it will be when I actually have the appointment letter in my little painful mitts.

Tuesday started off OK then went rapidly downhill when I developed a problem with my car’s steering and spent 2½ hours at the garage getting 2 new tyres and having them balanced and tracked.  Cost £175.  FFS.

Wednesday was much more fun as I discovered I’d come 2nd in the last of this season’s print competitions at Camera Club with my swan picture, yayy for me 🙂

Thursday I pottered about in the garden mulching and pruning, which isn’t very holiday-like but the weather’s been crap recently and I didn’t want to miss the only fine day we’ve had in the past two weeks.

Friday I was booked in for a smear test, which never did get done.  My period was due and it was so painful it felt like the nurse was shoving a bread knife up there.  Never in my 30 years of having smears have I ever had to ask them to stop, so I felt like a total loser.  I now have to make another appointment to go back mid cycle to see if that helps.

Friday afternoon Bertie had a routine vet appointment for some more tablets (Gabapentin) for his chronic back pain.  To cut a very long story short we’ve now decided it’s about time he had some x-rays so he’s due in this week for sedation to get that done.  I’m delighted he’s finally having the pain investigated after being on meds for 2 years without a diagnosis.  However, the vet also found he’d lost 0.5kg in weight which came as a shock as he eats like a flippin horse.  He was due to be wormed this week, so I’ve done that, and we’ll just have to see if he’s put any weight on when he goes in on Friday for his x-ray.  If not he’ll need a full blood workup to try and find the cause of his weight loss.  The worst was yet to come though.  The vet did a routine exam and told me Bert’s now got a Grade 2 heart murmur.  I didn’t think much of it at the time as I have a heart murmur and it’s totally benign, but when I got home and Googled it I quickly realized that in dogs that means he absolutely has heart disease.  He’s only 7 for heaven’s sake 😦  So I’ll have to chat more to the vet about that this week too and find out if he needs a chest x-ray or an ECG to find out the cause of his heart problem.  Thank God I’m insured for all this, though I dread to think what it will do to my premiums which are already stupidly high.  I absolutely love my little dog to bits and the thought of losing him early is something I can’t even contemplate.

My life seems to be swimming in sickness.  My Mum, my Dad, me and now even the damned dog.  It’s pointless asking why me but goddamnit I’m going to do it anyway…….WHY ME?!  *stamps feet*  What did I ever do to deserve a life as shite as this?!  If anyone ‘up there’ is listening you need to give me a break now cos I’m drowning here.

My stay-cation week has ended with me having a horrendously painful period and spending the whole of Saturday in bed with a hormone-induced migraine and stabbing back and stomach pain.  I now need a holiday to get over my holiday, or a £39 million lotto win so that I can be sick and miserable in comfort 😉

 

 

8 thoughts on “Weekly roundup

  1. Jo

    Sorry to hear you have so many stressful things going on at the moment, I have been reading your blog for a while now, I have found it very helpful as a long term M.E. and newly diagnosed EDS and MCAS sufferer and I admire the way you can cope so well with so many things, I hope Bertie’s problem turns out to be something treatable/manageable, he looks like such a lovely dog.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jak Post author

      Sorry to hear you’re a fellow EDS/MCAD/ME sufferer Jo – it’s a lot to deal with.

      Bertie is the love of my life – hard work, but then most men are 😉

      Jak x

      Like

      Reply
  2. Zhaan

    So sorry about Bertie. My cat is dying even as we speak. He’s now quit eating and drinking so the end is near. It’s so heartbreaking, they are family.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jak Post author

      I’m so sad to hear about your cat Zhaan. Before Bertie I’d had a cat for 13 years – he went through all my severe bedridden ME days with me and I was absolutely lost when he died. As you say, they’re family – in fact I prefer Bertie to most of my human family! Jak x

      Like

      Reply
  3. Karen, The Walking Allergy

    Oh, hon. You totally deserve to stamp your feet and have a good old fashioned tantrum. There are days when the crap just keeps coming at you. I’ve done it before…although I must be careful not to do it in front of the kids… (They’ve seen me cry, fume, shout, etc., but I think a tantrum might scare them a bit). It’s very counter to my personality…my counsellor says I get very quiet when I am angry…. But be LOUD. STOMP your feet (I know it hurts- do it anyhow). CURSE- watch George Carlin and say every single word in his ” Words you can’t say on television.”. SLAM some doors, RIP up a towel in to rags. SMASH a figurine you have never liked, but you have to keep displayed…. “Oh no! It broke when I was dusting!” (Don’t miss it too much, they might buy you another one! You’ve outgrown it anyway…). By the end you will be either laughing, or utterly drained, or both. But the anger, the frustration, the sheer “This isn’t fucking fair!” will come out. And tomorrow, you will clean up the figurine, and laugh at how audacious it was for you to do that! I once kept a little shard of something I broke. (Not that I have done this often- maybe five times in my life…) Every time I looked at it, it made be smile- I had been rolling with laughter, crying, cursing, weeping. It reminded me that sometimes, a big old tantrum is what is required to let the negative emotions out. Makes room for new energy.

    Karen

    Like

    Reply
  4. Isabelle

    Hi there Jak. Would it be possible to get in touch with you via email? My name’s Isabelle, I’m 19 and I’m almost five years into a battle with crippling chronic illness which is now been rediagnosed from ME to Joint Hypermobility. I’m currently dealing with a very old-school rheumatologist who is very hostile to anything I suggest and I was wondering whether I could pose a few questions regarding both EDS III and possibly exploring an MCAD diagnosis? Many thanks!!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Elizabeth Milo

    Well, that’s crap. I can’t even imagine a pap smear that painful, how awful. And Bertie… Oh I have no words. He’s a wee fighter, though. I hope you plan another home holiday sooner rather than later to make up for this. On the bright side, those are two gorgeous photos!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jak Post author

      Can you even imagine a proper holiday. Like, on a beach, in the sun, dipping in and out of the sea? The smell of suntan lotion. Lying on a sunbed reading a book. Going out at night for weird foreign food surrounded by fireflies and the smell of Jasmine flowers? It would be like some kind of heaven.

      Bertie’s great again today. Just waiting to hear about the referral for his back pain.

      The consultant did my smear while I had my legs splayed on Monday, so at least it’s done 🙂 And a bit painful but nothing like what happend the other week! xx

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Comment

