If I were rich…

I do the lotto online.  Not the UK one cos the jackpot is rubbish but the Euromillions – if you’re gonna win, you might as well win big.

Like most skint people I dream about winning a shed load of cash………and then realize I don’t actually need it.  I’m happy with my little Corsa so I wouldn’t buy a flash car.  I only really use my bedroom, the bathroom and the kitchen so don’t need a big house.  Heat makes me ill, plus I’d be scared of catching some deadly disease, so a holiday to a tropical paradise is out.  I live in my pjs, jeans, polo neck sweaters and fur lined wellies so it’s not like I need a Birkin or a pair of Manolo Blahniks (the fact I had to Google how to spell both of those tells you everything you need to know about my fashion sense 😉 ).  Thinking about it, I’m already pretty rich.

There are things that would make my life infinitely better.  Being able to buy the health care I’ve needed for decades but not had access to would be top of my list and employing a chef not far behind.  I’ve also had a dream lately of buying a huge piece of land with a stream running through the bottom and building a wooden lodge on it, with a view of the Pennine fells.  Just a simple little one-story house but with a big room on the side I could use for my photography.  I’d lie in bed in a morning and watch the sun rise over the mountains through huge plate glass windows, and photograph the Dippers, Heron and Kingfishers on the water in the afternoon (in my dream Bertie doesn’t frighten the birds off the second I’m about to take an award-winning shot 😉 ).

The biggest appeal, however, in being hugely rich would be all the money I could give away.  My first project would be an assisted housing complex for single people with severe M.E.  I got M.E. in my twenties and many of my friends were the same age.  We’re now in our forties, our parents are aging and no longer able to look after us, and for the most part we’re all single and childless – we worry about what the future holds in terms of living arrangements and care.

I’d offer my local council the money to build both a Hospice and a Crematorium.  I’ve been to my neighbour’s funeral today which involved a 60 mile trip to the city.  Our Hospice is also in the city and if you’re travelling every day to visit a dying relative the journey gets old really quickly.

I’d also offer my local hospital money to build a centre of excellence for complex and chronic conditions.  There are zero EDS services here in the North West, zero Mast Cell disease services anywhere other than London and the care for ME patients is dire if you’re severely affected.

I’d build housing complexes in villages for older people.  My 90 year old neighbour whose husband died has lived in our village for 50 years, yet she’s now rambling round in a huge old house which she can’t clean, maintain or repair.  She needs assisted living in a little bungalow or flat – there is nothing like that where we live.

I woke last Thursday morning to an email:  “We have exciting news about your lottery ticket.  Log on as soon as you can to find out more”.  I nearly had a freakin heart attack.  Turns out I’d won the princely sum of £3.20.  It took me a while to work out what I’d do with my vast fortune – I finally settled on some descaler for my kettle, the inside of which is now so shiny it can be seen from space 😉  I guess my upright MRI scan, surgery for my floaters, custom made orthotics and a 3* Michelin chef will have to wait for another day.

 

5 thoughts on “If I were rich…

  1. Elizabeth Milo

    Is that your neighbour with Parkinson’s that died? I’m very sorry! It’s such a brutal disease.
    Like you, I want to win the lotto just so I can basically give money away (after finding a perfect place for us to live and hiring a cleaner/assistant). What a wonderfully tortuous thing to dream about. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Jak Post author

      It was my neighbour with Parkinsons. It was a relief but still. I’m popping in to see his widow as often as I can, as are the other neighbours. She says her days are long, bless her, and they will be – her whole life has been taken up with caring for her husband. I’m hoping though that when the warmer weather arrives she can get out more, even just for a potter up the village which she couldn’t do before as she couldn’t leave her husband for a minute x

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Elizabeth Milo

        Oh, that’s so difficult. Makes me want to cultivate my relationships with neighbours. I know none of them! Neighbours have been very helpful to my best friend’s parents, too (her father is very sick with Parkinson’s).

        Like

        Reply

Leave a Comment

