Weekly roundup

This week has been even more mental than usual though in a nice way.

Tuesday night I’d been asked by my Camera Club to hold one of their beginner’s training events.  I had to talk for nearly 2 hours, with slides, which took weeks of planning as I’ve never done a slide presentation in my life and didn’t even know how to use the software.  We had a good turn out, with a dozen new people who hadn’t been to camera club before (all women might I add which was fabulous!), and my talk seemed to go down really well.  So well, in fact, that they’ve now asked me to run one of the nights at my actual Camera Club which I’m still mulling over!  The training event was in the evening, and as you all know I go to bed at 3-4pm and usually don’t get up again until the next morning, so doing anything which involves getting dressed and out of the house at night kills me.  I’m glad I did it, and was really happy with how it all went, but frustratingly it’s not something I could do more than once a year as I’m still suffering the after-effects on my health 5 days later.

The following night was the start of the season for my Camera Club after a four month summer break.  Again, I really enjoy it as it’s my only form of social life, but having to go out two evenings in a row took herculean effort.  We had our first competition on the theme of ‘glass’, and I had high hopes for my unusual entries, but they bombed 😦  Which badly knocked my confidence if I’m honest.  I’ve no idea why the first picture didn’t do well, but the feedback on the second photo was that it was too fussy and I only needed the 4 drops which reflected the flower.  Hmmmm.  It’s ‘raindrops on glass’ and as far as I’m aware you don’t just get 4 raindrops at a time, but what the hell do I know?

Photo of a flower in a glass vase

‘Flower in a glass vase’

Photo of raindrops on glass

‘Raindrops on glass’

As I mentioned in last week’s roundup, it was also my 48th birthday this week.  Just for once it was a gorgeous sunny warm day here in the north of England, and we had a fab lunch out up by the lake.  The Tour of Britain cycle race was also in our county that day and despite having no interest in cycling whatsoever my Dad and I decided to go and watch them.  I’m so glad we did because the atmosphere was great – all the kids were dressed up and playing instruments and waving flags, and it was just nice to be part of a community event.  Here’s one of a few photos I managed to get:

Afterwards I took my dog Bertie for a little stroll down by the river, then called in at a neighbour’s house for a brew, so a packed, exhausting day but lovely 🙂

Of course, I paid dearly for all the week’s exertions by spending the day in bed yesterday with awful achy flu-like symptoms and a stonking migraine + nausea so bad I couldn’t eat a thing and although the headache has lessened today I still feel like I’ve been run over by a truck, but such is my life!  I’m also feeling very emotional and a bit anxious, but then I often do when I’m over-tired.  Or it could be because I’m ovulating early – with the peri-menopause you can’t go by your usual schedule so it’s hard to know.

I am now officially “on my jollies” as we say here in Britain and looking forward to just resting and taking a break from the daily grind.

 

5 thoughts on “Weekly roundup

  1. d

    Hi Jak

    Congratulations on your first successful class! So glad it went well and it must feel great to know that they want you to contribute more. Hopefully you can strike a happy medium with teaching when you can and just enjoying the group otherwise. Toast to your continued success : )

    d

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Comment

