It’s Food, but not as we know it

The food we eat today bears no resemblance to the food our ancestors ate.  Not only do we not eat local, seasonal produce we eat stuff which has been artificially ripened, has been washed in bleach and contains ingredients which we can’t even pronounce.  Our dairy cattle are pumped full of chemicals, drugs and hormones and our meat producing animals (beef, chicken, pigs) are reared in ways which are both inhumane and unnatural particularly in America.  It’s food, Jim, but not as we know it.

As an experiment this week, I made out a fairly typical diet from one day in the life of a UK resident then went online to Tesco and wrote down all the ingredients contained in the diet – the results are in the table below.  There were some recognizable food items, but the majority of the day’s intake were mould reducers, preservatives, life expectancy enhancers, colours, flavourings, and various other additives whose purpose I can only guess at.  And being as the diet was also non-organic I dread to think what had been pumped in to the pigs, chickens and cows before the meat and dairy produce arrived at the supermarket.

Bear in mind, this list is for ONE DAY.  Can you even imagine the amount of sheer crap we consume in a year, in a lifetime?  And we don’t just eat one portion of Xanthun Gum or Polyglycerol polyricinoleate in a day, it’s in virtually everything we eat.  What accumulated effect does all this artificial rubbish have on our bodies?  It doesn’t surprise me one iota that we get sick, our hormones are disrupted, our energy is reduced.  I dread to think what it’s all doing to our reproductive systems and the hereditary impact it will have on our children and our children’s children.

Before going low histamine, I thought I had a really healthy diet.  I ate everything the Government told me was “good” for me.  I had fresh fruit smoothies for breakfast, I ate organic food where possible, I’ve been a non-meat eater or over a quarter of a century, I rarely drank fizzy pop or sugary drinks, I had lots of veg and low fat dairy produce.  But going low histamine meant that I had to give up many of the pre-prepared foods that I relied upon because, when I came to look at the labels of some of the foods I ate, I was shocked to see what they were actually made of – I could barely recognise most of the ingredients as food at all.

Now I am forced to make virtually everything myself at least I know what’s in the food I eat which can only be a good thing.  So the second part of the experiment was writing down what I eat in a day, and listing the ingredients of my diet.  The difference is like night and day.

Not only does my diet only contain one preservative (and if I had the energy to use dried chickpeas rather than tinned it wouldn’t even contain that) but you can see the list of ‘normal’ foods is half the size of that in the Standard UK Diet.  Our bodies aren’t designed to process the vast amounts of varied foods we consume in a day.  Our ancestors ate local produce, which would have been restricted to the seasons and they rarely ate anything imported (apart from tea, sugar and some spices) which also reduced the variety of food available.

It’s all serious food for thought.

_____________________________________________

STANDARD UK DIET

Breakfast: Toast with light margarine and strawberry jam
Mid-morning snack: Kit-kat
Lunch: Ham & pickle sandwich.  Small packet cheese ‘n onion Pringles.  Can Fanta.
Mid-afternoon snack: Muller crunch corner yoghurt pot.
Dinner: Beef lasagne ready meal, pre-bagged salad leaves, french dressing, garlic bread.  Glass of 7up.

Table of typical UK food ingredients

LOW HISTAMINE DIET

Breakfast: Toast with butter and home-made rhubarb jam.
Mid-morning snack: Home-made treacle flapjack
Lunch: Rice salad with Chinese honey dressing.  Fresh fruit smoothie.
Mid-afternoon snack: Home-made carob chip cookies.
Dinner: Fresh egg noodles with home-made spicy chickpea cakes, vegetables, organic soured cream dip and home-made sweet chilli dipping sauce.  POM pomegranate juice.

Table of low histamine ingredients

2 thoughts on “It’s Food, but not as we know it

  1. Glo

    I was a label reader before my mast cell was diagnosed and watched for things like high fructose corn syrup etc. Now I still read but buy almost nothing that isn’t fresh or organic. Have found some organic canned goods that only contain water and this actual chick peas or peas. There are things out there but grocery shopping can take forever. Have also come across bagged salads with nothing but salad ingredients which is good for my picky tortoise. He prefers bagged salad to many fresh veggies. So there are things out there but its very time consuming to find them and they are of course more expensive. I also cook a lot more than I used to which takes more time. But I’ve learned a lot about my diet and do feel better. It is almost impossible to not slip sometimes through

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jak Post author

      We’re only human Glo, and will all slip now and again. I make no apologies for using the occasional tin of bins in my recipes, because I’m ill and it’s less time consuming than using dried beans. We all just have to do the best we can under difficult circumstances. Jak x

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Comment

