Odds n Sods

There was no weekly roundup on Sunday because I had a 2 day ovulation-induced migraine. The kind where my entire head felt like it was being excavated from the inside and I didn’t dare move in case I passed out with the pain. I am soooo thankful I only really get them twice a month now (ovulation and menstruation), rather than the twice a week of old, but would be even happier if they’d bugger off altogether.

My mast cells are absolutely bonkers at the mo and I have no idea why.  I was (just about) coping with my reflux by swigging Gaviscon every 2 hours, then my body decided it would ratch up my misery a notch or two and started reacting to that as well.  I am now totally med free and it’s not fun.  I don’t know what’s worse – the pain and inevitable cough, or taking drugs and being anxious every day of my life that today will be the day all hell breaks loose and I’ll have anaphylaxis to them.  At the moment I’m living with the pain and enjoying the mental peace.

Not only are my mast cells very drug twitchy, they are also very digestion twitchy and I’m having some small reactions after I eat.  It’s nothing to do with what I’m eating, as I had freshly cooked Shepherd’s Pie on Monday night and reacted, and had leftover Shepherd’s Pie (technically more histamine loaded than the fresh dish) last night and didn’t react, I think it’s just the mere act of eating and the histamine produced during the digestive process.  It’s been a very long time since I’ve had to put up with reactions after food and I’m unimpressed.com.  I also still have rampant butt hives.

I apologise it’s been so long since I added any new recipes to my blog – I’ve just not been well enough this year to faff on for hours in the kitchen.  But I am hoping to add a couple of quick dishes in the next week or so.

We all cope differently with our really bad patches and I thought I’d list the few things which have always helped me cope with mine:

  • Hot water bottle
  • Warm baths
  • My electric blanket
  • Ice packs
  • TENS machine
  • My pets
  • My parents, my Mum in particular
  • Tea (which I technically shouldn’t be drinking but couldn’t get through the days without – I am British after all 😉 ).
  • Warm milk.  I’m often unable to eat during bad patches, but often find I can keep down a mug of warm milk and the odd Rich Tea biscuit, both of which have saved me from starvation on a number of occasions!

Mind set is also important, and while I can’t say I don’t have times where I fall apart (like, last week!) I do try not to linger there for fear I’ll become clinically depressed.  For the most part I have mantras and thought processes which I return to in times of crisis, including:

  • Acceptance.
    “Jak, you can’t change the situation, so accept it.  The worst that can happen is that you die and the way you feel at the moment that would be OK.”
  • Relax into the symptoms.
    The more I fight the pain, or the spasms, the nausea, or the restlessness the worse they get.  I repeat the mantra above and try to just relax and let the sensations wash over me.
  • Remind yourself how strong you are.
    “Jak, you have lived through this before, many times, and you have survived.”
  • Remind yourself you only have to get through today.
    Don’t worry about how you’ll cope with tomorrow, or next week, or next month.  Today is all that matters – get through minute by minute if that’s what it takes.
  • Distraction.
    I do anything and everything I can to take my mind off my situation.  I watch TV if I’m well enough, I go online if I’m well enough, I crochet if I’m well enough, and if I’m not well enough I listen to a talking book or just lie and focus on the birds singing outside my window and try to identify their different calls.
  • Hope.
    None of us would get through life without hope.  Hope that tomorrow, or next week, or next month, or next year, will be better and it often is.

While I’m wittering on about nothing much in particular, I thought I’d share this recent research on the benefits of milk with you.  As you know, I don’t adhere to the current trend that gluten, grains and dairy are inflammatory and bad for us – just the opposite.  This research paper has demonstrated that people who regularly consume milk have high levels of glutathione in their brains.  Glutathione is often called the “mother of all antioxidants” and is found in every cell in the body.  It protects mitochondria (our energy producing cells) from bacteria and viruses as well as toxins, and being as though our mitochondria are affected in mast cell disease (and possibly M.E.) this can only be a good thing.  I know, however, many of you react to dairy – I’m just lucky that it’s one of my ‘safest’ foods.  In saying all that, the milk I drink is always organic from grass fed cows and this is very important.  As with all research this needs to be replicated and further studies need to be carried out.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Odds n Sods

    1. Jak Post author

      The Shepherd’s pie was my usual mild reaction: tachycardia, rise in blood pressure, whooshing feeling in my brain, muscle cramps, nausea. But I ate it again the next day with no reaction whatsoever, so it wasn’t the pie!

      I just drink skimmed organic cow’s milk. I don’t even think you can get raw milk in the UK and wouldn’t drink it even if I could 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Elizabeth Milo

        I’m with you! Everyone is talking about raw milk and it’s grossing me out. Interesting to hear others’ symptoms because I’m always trying to identify what I might dismiss. Tachycardia I always attribute to over-exertion, so I’ll have to see if there’s a food correlation there.

        Like

        Reply
        1. Jak Post author

          My symptoms start 20-40 minutes after I’ve eaten. I only get tachy with high blood pressure if I’m reacting to something, no other time so it’s easier for me to know what the culprit is x

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

Leave a Comment

