Weekly roundup

The past week has had it’s fair share of ups and down.  I’m still not taking any medication for my GERD, although I’m swigging Gaviscon Advance like it’s water.  The replacement tablet prescribed by my GP wasn’t available anywhere, so she had to change it and even that drug was only available from one pharmacy.  It had to be ordered in, so I’m currently waiting to pick it up.  To be honest, though, I don’t hold out any hope of being able to tolerate it.

I have the worst outbreak of butt hives I’ve had in ages.  It could be that the H2 blockers were doing more than just helping my stomach acid.  Or it could be down to the fact the Birch pollen season has started so my histamine burden is currently way high.  Or it could be down to the emotional stress of the past couple of weeks.  Or a combination of all of the above.

I also have a really sore throat.  Due to my M.E. I had a permanent sore throat for about 15 years, but now no longer suffer.  So I’m wondering if this is M.E. related or whether I have a mid throat infection (it’s much worse on one side than the other, which points more to the infection theory).  It’s impossible to tell if my glands are up – I had Glandular Fever when I was 13 and my glands have been like rock hard golf balls ever since.

My Mum hasn’t been good this week either.  She had to be on 3 different types of antibiotics last month for a chest infection, which has now given her the worst case of thrush I’ve ever seen.  The cream she was given isn’t touching it, so it looks like she might need oral anti-fungals.  But she’s now started coughing again, so is on yet another lot of antibiotics which will make the thrush problem worse.   She’s just so fed up of the whole merry-go-round and seems really down – I don’t blame her.

However, the week hasn’t been all bad – in fact, quite the opposite.  The first week I stopped the H2 blockers for my reflux the pain was like nothing on earth, possibly from rebound acid production.  But this week it’s actually settled down to at least an acceptable level and I no longer feel like I can’t manage it.  I’m not saying it’s any fun, but it’s (kind of) bearable.

The weather has also been great this week.  Still in single figures, but dry and spring-like.  I’ve even managed to potter about in the garden for half an hour most mornings doing a bit of pruning and having a general tidy up after winter.   Being amongst nature in the fresh air never fails to lift my spirits and I sat mesmerized watching some sparrows taking in twigs and straw to my nest boxes.

Having been largely stuck in bed for the past 2 weeks it’s given me the opportunity to start a new blog (my friend K says I’m a blog addict and I need professional help 😉 ).  As many of you know, I have a passion for amateur photography which started 4 years ago when I adopted Bertie.  I’ve never had a lesson in my life and when I first started hadn’t got a clue what I was doing – it took me an entire year just to decipher the manual of my DSLR camera 😉 .   In addition, none the information I read either in books or online seemed aimed at a total beginner and assumed all sorts of knowledge I didn’t possess.  So it’s been a really steep learning curve trying to figure it all out.  To save anyone else going through the same trials I thought I’d start a blog on what I’ve learned and share my experience with others interested in improving their photography skills.  The site is called ‘The Amateur Photographer’ if anyone is interested – it’s best to start at the beginning as the posts all build on each other.

It was Mother’s Day here in the UK last weekend, so I managed to pull myself together enough to take my Mum out for lunch (well, OK, technically my Dad took us all out for lunch as I’m broke and couldn’t afford the bill).  With my stomach problems I thought it would be a nightmare, but actually I coped alright given the circumstances.  My Mum was sent some flowers off my brother, so I thought I’d leave you with a picture of a Ranunculus from the bouquet – isn’t nature wonderful?

Ranunculus

6 thoughts on “Weekly roundup

  1. Teri Scherzinger

    Hiya!

    So glad you are doing a little better! You have been on my mind frequently since your gerd got so bad, feeling sad you don’t have more help, and wishing there was something I could do to help.

    I had my husband read your latest entries and he said “you should send her some oils”. There is a company here in Utah (Doterra) that makes very pure essential oils. I told him you would probably be very allergic. There are several for thrush though, might help your mum? If you are interested, I would be happy to gift you.

    I have had a better week. I tried some supplements that support the methylation cycle and offer mitochondrial support. Have you heard of this? Really making a difference so far, hope it’s not a fluke.

    Wishes for more goodness to come your way…
    ❤ Teri ❤

    Like

    Reply
    1. bertieandme Post author

      What a lovely comment Teri, thank you. And thanks so much for the offer of oils for my Mum – that’s so kind of you. She has MCAD too though, and struggles with stuff on her skin, though luckily for her she tolerate many more drugs than me. She does use probiotics, but the last onslaught of antibiotics was so huge it finally tipped the balance 😦 We’ll start her off on them again once this course of the current antibiotics have finished (we were always told not to take pro and anti together, not sure if this advice was correct!).

      I’m thrilled the methylation supplements are helping you 🙂 I really wish I could tolerate more stuff – pain killers in particular!

      Hugs
      Jak x

      Like

      Reply
  2. kneillbc

    So glad your GERD has settled to an ‘I can manage it as long as everything else goes perfectly’ level, which is better than the ‘Oh, if this continues, I will not be able to cope’ level. A bit.
    Looking forward to looking at the new blog- won’t load for some reason. Stunning photo!!!! You’ve definitely found your niche.
    I’m sorry to hear about your Mum. Sometimes the drugs cause more trouble than it seems worth it. Are probiotics regularity prescribed with antibiotics there? Not that you need a prescription, but most doctors remind me to take my probiotics if I have to take an antibiotic- as a matter of course, for the kids, everyone. I’ve even found one that doesn’t set off my mast cells- is a pediatric powder. (it’s in the kitchen, and the hubs is cooking Sunday breakfast so I can’t go get it to look at the name). In any case, I hope she gets back in balance soon.
    Karen

    Like

    Reply
    1. bertieandme Post author

      Thanks Karen. As I said to Teri above Mum does use probiotics, but the last onslaught of antibiotics was so huge it finally tipped the balance. We’ll start her off on them again once this course of the current antibiotics have finished. She looked quite a bit better today so that was a relief. Jak x

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Comment

