Weekly roundup

I was going to write this post yesterday, being the end of the week, but I had a migraine.  An all-over-my-noggin-not-just-on-one-side migraine, that made me nauseous and want to chop my head off just to get rid of the pain.  It’s day 17 of my menstrual cycle.  Again.  What is it about day 17 that gives me a migraine?!  If I work out the figures I ovulate around day 12-14, so why I should have a hormone derived head explosion on day 17 is a mystery.  Please menopause, hurry yourself along so I don’t have to deal with this shit every month!

My hip pain has been slightly better this week, yayyy 🙂 .  I’ve been trialling an all terrain mobility scooter (more on this in a future blog post), and received my smart crutches (more on this to come too) so I’ve barely walked a step and it has helped.  I see my physio again tomorrow but to be fair I can’t spend my whole life sitting on my lardy arse, so I’m not sure what the solution is going to be.  Watch this space.

My mast cells remain twitchy and I’m still sleeping badly.  After nearly 3 months the insomnia is now making me grumpy (yes, it is possible for me to be even grumpier than normal – hard to believe I know 😉 ).  I’m having some slight reactions after random foods but so far they’re not out of hand (thank you God!).  I’m trying to be really strict with my diet, but I’m so exhausted, feel so nauseous and it hurts so much to stand to make meals, that I confess it’s a struggle.  Last night I ended up with a bowl of Cornflakes and some tortilla chips dipped in mango chutney for dinner.  It’s all I wanted so just for once I indulged in crap.  It was delicious 😉

The big news of last week in our family is that we’ve finally got my Nan into residential care.  She’s 100 years old, can’t walk unaided, is doubly incontinent, partially deaf, partially sighted, diabetic and going ever so slightly doolally.  She currently lives in sheltered housing with the help of my Dad and paid carers, but the last 2 years have been really hard and we’ve agreed as a family that she needs more care than we can currently provide.

We asked her Social Worker to assess her for residential care, thinking she’d sail through, and were absolutely gobsmacked last Tuesday when she was turned down as she “didn’t fit the criteria”.  The only way she could get any worse is to be dead, so I rang the Social Worker for a little chat.  I pointed out that my Nan, who weighs 20 stones (280lbs), falls so regularly that the ambulance service know her by name.  That she has continence accidents which include smearing excrement all over herself, the bed, the walls and the carpets (we have no idea how she manages this!) which my 75 year old Dad has to clean up, sometimes at midnight.  She thinks all the Carers are stealing from her, and last month accused them of taking her Dentures which we eventually found under the bed (Lord knows how she got them there!).  And to cap it all off, we found she’s been hiding all her medication in a Tic Tac box and not actually taking it, putting her at risk of a diabetic coma.  The Social Worker decided to change her mind and we now have a bed for her in a lovely home not far from my parents.  Result.

Life doesn’t stop just because you’re chronically sick.  You still have to deal with all the milestone events that healthy people deal with, you just have to do it whilst also dealing with your own problems.  It’s stressful.

It’s my second Camera Club competition this week and there is a set theme of flowers.  Here are my 2 entries:

Judging takes place in December.  Wish me luck!

5 thoughts on “Weekly roundup

  1. Teri Scherzinger

    Good luck with the lovely photo’s. I learned a new word that made me smile (doolally). I can use it increasingly to describe myself !! Thanks for brightening my day.

    Like

    Reply
  2. d

    Hah! I was thinking the same thing. I also like “lardy arse”. : ) Good luck with the photos – l like the spider web on the poppies in particular.

    d

    Like

    Reply
    1. bertieandme Post author

      Glad my blog is being educational 😉 Now you can say out loud that someone has a “lardy arse” (ie fat butt) and no-one will have a clue what you’re on about lol! x

      Like

      Reply
  3. chrissy

    Beautiful photos. Love them. Being British I am familiar with both expressions and love them. Use them all the time and I’m a southerner too.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Comment

