New Recipes

Apologies for not doing a food post for a while – life has conspired against me trying out any new recipes and then during my stay-cation I was a lazy mare and did naff all 😉

In terms of recipes, I’m learning as I go along.  So this week I’ve re-visited some of the recipes I’ve already put online and made a few tweeks.

For anyone who makes the Leek Puffs, instead of making bechamel sauce I’ve found using 2 dessert spoons of ricotta cheese also works really well and is less time consuming (and uses one less pan so less washing up, bonus!).

I’ve also changed the mayonnaise recipe to use 2 egg yolks and 250ml olive oil, instead of 3 egg yolks and 300ml of olive oil as per Gordon Ramsey’s recipe.  Using fewer eggs and oil still give one large jar of mayo, which is enough for me, especially as it only lasts a few days in the fridge and can’t be frozen.

I’ve added a new recipe for tomato-less Salsa, which is never going to be a tomato salsa but is still nice to accompany main dishes or as a dip for tortilla chips or crunchy vegetable sticks.  You can make it stronger or milder by using more or less onion & chilli.  See the Miscellaneous Section of the Recipe page.

I’ve also added a new recipe for basil pesto which adds ooomph to pasta dishes and wraps.  Don’t try tasting it in its raw state – it’s vile and tastes of nothing but garlic!  But once you add it to other dishes it’s fine – you’ll just have to trust me 😉  Details in the Miscelleneous section of the Recipe page (photo to follow – I ate all the pesto before I remembered to take one!).

Being as though I’ve now concocted a pesto recipe I’m happy(ish) with, I’m able to make a dish I used to do frequently pre-low histamine diet: pesto pasta with roasted veg (though I still miss topping it off with lashings of parmesan cheese and it’s sadly never going to taste anywhere near as nice as it used to).  Recipe now up in the Main Courses section of the Recipe page.

And I’ve used my new salsa recipe to make some Sweet Potato Nachos – also in the Main Course section of the Recipe page.

I’m always really happy to add a new lunch dish to the site, as even now I struggle for portable snacks. These are Quorn Cornish pasties (though if you eat meat you could substitute any cooked mince), which have taken me a couple of weeks to perfect – they’re great and easily packed into a lunch-box when you’re on the go.  See the lunch section of the Recipe page.

And finally a bit of sweet indulgence.  We’ve had a heat wave here in the UK this summer (sadly now over, but it was nice while it lasted!) so I had a bash at making some super quick creamy fruity iced lollies – recipe in the Dessert section of the Recipe page and scroll down.

I must admit that even now when I adapt a recipe I’ve made a hundred times in the past I still expect it to taste like it used to, and of course it never will.  I never thought I’d miss a humble tin of chopped tomatoes quite so much, and although my red pepper and tomato-less sauces are good substitutes they are still just that……substitues, and are never going to taste like the real thing.  I also miss cheese dreadfully and used to use loads of organic Cheddar and vegetarian Parmesan in my meals.  There really is no substitute for these and I’m just having to train my taste-buds to do without.  What I’m trying to say is don’t expect these dishes to taste like you imagine – tomato-less salsa is never going to be salsa, and pesto without parmesan is always going to be lacking in flavour.  However, I hope you can either try these recipes as they stand, or use them as a spring-board to make something similar using ingredients you can tolerate or enjoy.  We all react to different foods and I just make things which I personally like and cope with OK, for example you’ll never see a recipe on here containing celery because it’s the Devil’s own vegetable but if you want to use celery be my guest 😉 .  Then of course, being vegetarian, none of my meals contain meat but again if you’re a carnivore (murderer! *grin*) you could swap any of the Quorn in recipes for fresh mince.  I know you’ll all just use your imagination and common sense – enjoy 🙂

 

 

4 thoughts on “New Recipes

  1. Elizabeth Milo

    I’m curious, have you ever had problems with mushrooms, beans, broccoli, cauliflower, kale or ornery greens? I’m thinking about throwing caution to the wind and eating anything I want to see how and when my body responds. I really miss dairy, beans, corn…
    Yum, btw! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. bertieandme Post author

      No problems at all with any of the above – they are amongst my safest foods. I know many people say mushrooms are high histamine but I can’t find where the idea has come from – the only research that’s been done (by a leading DAO/histamine researcher) showed mushrooms to be as low in histamine as rice and collard greens! However, we all react to different things so try them one at a time then you’ll know if you do react which one you have a problem with x

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Elizabeth Milo

        As far as I can tell, I don’t react to any one thing (except alcohol, MSG, NSAIDS)… it seems to be such a gradual worsening of overall symptoms and I don’t get obvious things like hives or itching or sneezing, so I just try to keep the bucket low… but keep pushing the envelope as evidenced by my salad with avocado and balsamic tonight. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

Leave a Comment

