Galloping Dogrot

I must admit I’m always saddened when people leave critical comments on my blog or personally attack me (or anyone else brave enough to put themselves “out there” for the world to see).  Anyone reading this can see how challenging living alone with complex ill-health and disability is.  How negative or critical comments aid my, or anyone else’s, journey is hard to fathom.  As my disclaimer (available on every post page) states: “I’m not a mast cell or EDS expert and have no medical training.  I’m just sharing my own personal thoughts and journey”.   I don’t give advice and never have.  If my readers want to try the things I’m trying I hope they help.  If they think I talk a load of old codswallop I’m sure they’re not alone 😉 .  All I’m doing is using my precious energy to share my 20 years of experience with ill health in the  hopes that some of the things I’ve tried will help other people with similar symptoms.  I don’t need to be psycho-analysed for my motives in writing a blog or criticized for my personal thoughts or feelings.  I think some of my followers find my personality challenging and want to change/improve me more to their liking, while others think I talk out of my arse, in which case there is an “unfollow” button on every post you receive – just click it and find some other blog you like more.  I promise I won’t be offended.

As I said in my last post, I’ve not felt well enough to experiment with any new recipes lately.  I did have another attempt at making rhubarb jam, using jam sugar with added pectin, and yet again it failed to set properly!  I had zero problems last year making jam with this recipe so I’m clueless as to why it’s not working this year.  I’ll wait another month for the rhubarb to mature before having another bash.  I’m also in the process of experimenting with mango chutney (so far it’s OK but nothing special) and basil pesto (there are lots of recipes online for simple pesto and they are all truly vile!).  I’ll let you know if I ever make a good job of either.

I have, however, added a new recipe for Courgette (Zucchini) Lasagne to the site.  Some people might find it a bit bland, so feel free to spice it up using chilli, different vegetables & herbs.  I did some yeast-free garlic bread to accompany it and thought it was rather nice.  See the Main Course section of the Recipe page and scroll down.

Photo of courgette lasagne

 

As regular readers will know I sprained the PIP joint of my right ring finger 2½ months ago and        Photo of sprained ring fingerit’s still giving me gyp (healthy finger on the left, sprained swollen knuckle on the right).  Yesterday, all out of the blue, a red bruised lump (see picture below) appeared to add to the swelling which is already there.  No idea what it is and I’m putting it down to “galloping dogrot” a common affliction in my house to explain the unexplainable 😉 .  I’m seeing the OT on Tuesday so will ask her what she thinks is going on.

I’m back at the dentist in the morning with my root canal – wish me luck!

 

Red lump

Red lump

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Galloping Dogrot

  1. todd

    Don’t you dare take any stock in what a total stranger says to you. Remember “What you think of me (or my blog) is none of my business!”
    The fact that you do anything consistently impresses the heck out of me!

    I am not kidding but I’ve got the exact same thing on my finger (third on left hand) I thought that I must have been stung or had a thorn from being in the garden. It was on my joint closest to the nail.. A red bump that didn’t hurt…Then then when I awoke the next day my actual knuckle was swollen and almost looked bluish like I had bruised it badly! It hurt just to touch. This was about 4 weeks ago and although better now just seems permanent. I do plan to see a hand Doc but am putting it off as long as I can to see if it will go away….I am blown away that you have the same thing!! I never even knew about ED until last week but everything finally makes sense!! No doctor ever even said it was something to check out even though I had one neurosurgeon say I had too much elastin and not enough collagen!!! Hello..this would have been a great clue!!!
    Anyway, my main reason for writing is to again let you know that there are probably lots of followers, but for sure one, (me) that appreciate your honesty and openness sooooo much!!
    Keep sharing, please and have a great day!

    Like

    Reply
    1. bertieandme Post author

      Thanks so much Todd 🙂 Weird re the finger thing! I sprained mine badly months ago and the bruising only just seems to be coming out, which is so bizarre. From experience my sprains can take up to a year to fully heal and sometimes are never quite the same again x

      Like

      Reply
  2. Niki

    I agree with Todd, it’s a great blog, keep it up… My daughter is loving your leeks in pastry recipe and she’s not reacting too much to it …. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. Marley

    I also agree with Todd above. I can tell you are a very good writer and are not afraid to discuss areas that might make us feel uncomfortable at times. If only Doctors had the fight in them that you do! I have seen a Dietician due to your blog regarding a low histamine diet. I have learned more about mast cells from the video of Dr. Anne Maitland (Mt.Sinai Hospital) that you made possible. We all have good days and bad days with mast cell disorders. It’s nice to know there is someone like you out there for the rest of us. God doesn’t make junk! That’s what I tell myself on a rotten day. Please carry on! You’re quite good at it! Marley

    Like

    Reply
    1. bertieandme Post author

      Awww, thanks so much Marley 🙂 That talk by Dr Maitland is excellent isn’t it – wish she were my doctor! I delete the worst comments off my blog as I don’t want that kind of negative energy around for others to read, but of course I’ve read them and I just wonder why some of these people read my blog when they obviously don’t like anything I have to say – I just think they should jog on 😉

      Like

      Reply
  4. Christine

    Sadly, I can totally relate to what you’re saying. Last year, I had a very cruel comment posted on my blog. The person told me that I was crazy and a bad mother. It really hurt. Pay no attention to their evilness!

    Like

    Reply
    1. bertieandme Post author

      So sorry to hear you had that happen Christine 😦 If people don’t like my (or your) blog why don’t they just jog right along? No-one is forcing them to read!

      Like

      Reply
      1. Christine

        Exactly! Why someone would feel compelled to be mean or insult a blogger, I have no idea. Especially one who writes about their own personal experiences and health challenges.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

Leave a Comment

