Weekly roundup

I had my 5th root canal treatment on Thursday and after 7 weeks there is finally good news – the infection has gone from all three roots, yayyy 🙂  But this is me, so there is also bad news – the tooth still hurts like a son-of-a-bitch and we have no idea why, and some more of the tooth chipped off taking the temporary filling out.  I’m fairly sure I’m just going to be left with a stump, but one which should still be crownable so all is not lost.  Because my tooth is still hurting my Dentist still didn’t fill it, instead putting my 6th temporary dressing on.  I have to go back in another 2 weeks to see if the pain has calmed down.  I can’t believe how well I’m coping with all these local anaesthetics and horrible dressings which contain things I react to – the pertinent point being “local”, ie. they’re not entering my gut or my blood stream, because if they were all hell would be breaking loose.  The stress of each treatment does affect me though – I couldn’t spell a single word after my appointment on Thursday and called a fellow blogger the name of a friend I’d just been chatting to on the phone – I gave up being online after that and had a nap instead 😉 .

Having to radically alter my diet has not been either easy or fun, and there have been days where I’ve wanted to just give up (sadly it’s not an option unless I want to go back to having anaphylaxis every time I eat).  But then there are days like Wednesday this week, where my food was lovely, and I think I’ve finally cracked the whole new diet malarkey.  I had:

  • Breakfast: organic yeast-free bread, with butter and home-made rhubarb jam.
  • Lunch: home-made Chinese spring rolls, with home-made sweet chilli dipping sauce.
  • Dinner: home-made creamy vegetable pancake, with potato salad and carrot/red cabbage coleslaw both made with home-made mayonnaise (although I do admit to cheating slightly with the pancake, as I sprinkled it with a little bit of mild grated cheddar which I melted in the oven).  My meal was washed down with freshly squeezed juice of kale, broccoli, grapes, blueberries, melon and mango (I’m sure any vegetarians reading this will know, but you should always try and drink a vitamin C rich drink with your main meal as it helps iron absorption).

During the day I worked out I’d eaten:  Whole-wheat, Olive oil, Rhubarb, Lemon juice, Sugar, Dairy (butter, milk, cream, cheese), Sugar snap peas, Carrots, Courgette, Mushrooms, Beansprouts, Spring onions, Tamarind, Garlic, Chilli, Red cabbage, Potatoes, Egg yolks, Groundnut oil, Salt, Kale, Broccoli, Cantaloupe melon, Grapes, Blueberries and Mango.  Which seems like a pretty well-rounded and balanced diet to me.

This month has been brilliant in terms of head pain, and I’ve not had a migraine (or even a headache to any real extent) since before my last period.  This is phenomenal for me, and probably the only time I’ve been migraine-fee for a whole month in the last 7 years!  I went and spoiled it all by having one on Thursday, although it wasn’t very bad and didn’t stop me doing what I wanted to – it was hormonal of course, as it’s my pre-menstrual week.  I’d forgotten what living without migraines was like and I have to say this month has been awesome 🙂 .

I made the mistake of not putting insect spray on when out in the garden one day this week.  The result?  My legs were used as a buffet table by every nippy little critter in a 10 mile radius.  I won’t be forgetting again! (sorry for poor picture quality in this post – my camera is away at the menders and I’m relying on my very cheap mobile phone).

We’re continuing to have lovely warm sunshine here in the north of England, which is nothing short of miraculous as I live in the wettest part of England and it usually just rains……and rains…..and rains some more.  It’s gorg to zip about the village on my scooter in my shorts, breeze in my hair, fresh air in my lungs (albeit causing me to sneeze my head off!) and a song in my heart.  The appreciation I have for times like this is beyond words – the last 20 years has been a slog of epic proportions which at times has nearly killed me.  But I am still here and loving life 🙂 .

 

 

2 thoughts on “Weekly roundup

  1. Jill Jarvis

    Glad you’ve had a relatively great time migraine/headache-wise in the past month. Pictured you on your scooter really enjoying the fine weather appreciating nature at its best 🙂 Hope it can all carry on longer for you.<3

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Comment

