New Recipes

It’s been approximately a year since I started to eat a low histamine diet.  It’s second nature now and I’ve gotten into the grove of preparing all my food from scratch and choosing low histamine ingredients.  Initially I felt incredibly deprived as all my favourite foods were forbidden (how I miss the humble tomato and freshly grated parmesan cheese!) but I now have a bank of tasty recipes and I’ve adjusted to the change in taste although it did take several months.  So if you’ve just started to eat low histamine and are thinking you can’t face another day stick with it, it gets better I promise!

Eating out is tricky and it’s rare you ever find a totally low histamine meal.  I just choose the meal with the lowest histamine ingredients available, pick the tomatoes out of salads and ask for no dressings etc.  As my histamine “bucket” is no longer full to overflowing having the odd higher histamine food doesn’t usually cause me any problems.   Saying all that, I’ve eaten frozen processed chips in a restaurant and had a reaction to those so now I only go to places that use all fresh ingredients.  If I need to buy a sandwich when I’m out I do have to cheat and have bread containing yeast, but I have it freshly made up at a deli with low histamine ingredients (eg, yesterday I had a roasted vegetable & mozzarella panini – the veg was freshly grilled in front of my eyes and mozzarella is allowed on my version of the diet).  Drinks are also problematic, so I usually end up with bottled still mineral water although I’ve had pear J2O with no problems. I react to apples because of my Birch pollen allergy, but all of you should be able to drink apple juice which is widely available.

I’ve found a new source of ready-made items with low histamine ingredients in Booths supermarkets, who often stock unusual things not seen in the larger supermarket chains.  I found jars of organic rhubarb compot, caramel sauce, blackstrap molasses and various other items I’ve struggled to source – so if you have a Booths near you check it out.

On to recipes.  As stated in my last food post I tried substituting carob powder for some of the flour in my Crunchy Oat Biscuits, instead of using actual carob chips.  They were OK but not nearly as nice as the original with the chips in, so I’m sticking with those as they’re delicious!  I also said I’d find a way of making home-made Bounty bars, but despite several tries the carob covering just doesn’t work so I’ve had to admit defeat *cries silently* 😉

I still struggle with lunches especially when I’m often not at home, so finding a new portable recipe is always great.  The late Linda McCartney (wife of the Beatle Paul McCartney) produced some brilliant vegetarian cookbooks that didn’t use stupid ingredients like vine leaves and made proper hearty meals suitable for an English winter!  As they are now quite old her books often don’t contain modern ingredients, which make her recipes more suitable for low histamine meals.   This week I’ve made some Leek Puffs from her ‘Linda’s Summer Kitchen’ cook book and they are tasty, though best still slightly warm from the oven.  See the lunch section of my Recipe page and scroll down.

I also struggle to find sauces which don’t contain either soya or vinegar, so to find a sauce recipe with allowed ingredients is a gem.  This Chinese Honey Dipping Sauce is really versatile and can be used as a marinade, in stir fries, as a substitute when recipes ask for soy sauce, or added to other recipes to give them a tang!  It doesn’t make a huge quantity, but it’s quite a strong sauce so you don’t need much – I use 2-3 tablespoons for a single veggie/noodle stir-fry. See the Jams & Sauces section of the Recipe page and scroll down.

I’ve been spending a few weeks perfecting a Quorn meatloaf recipe (although you could adapt this for mince if you eat meat), the original idea for which I think also came from a Linda McCartney cook book.  Meatloaf can be quite dry, so in the picture below I’ve done it with buttered new potatoes and sweet potato/carrot casserole (the recipe for which is in the Main Courses section of the Recipe page, as is the new Meatloaf).  The addition of tamarind paste to the meatloaf gives it a nice tangy flavour and you could also add nuts if tolerated to bump up the nutritional content.

Photo of Quorn meatloaf

I don’t have the energy to make my own vegetable stock for use in recipes, but thought I’d share with you how to make it if you don’t want to use commercially available stock cubes or powders.  It’s easy, albeit time-consuming, and the stock can be frozen for future use.  See the Miscellaneous Section of the Recipe page and scroll down.

 

4 thoughts on “New Recipes

  1. Pam Garden

    Hi. This reply is not specifically related to the above post but = I just joined the UK support network. I had sent this info in an email response when I joined the grup but I didn’t know if it was just to an automated response email to set up the reply to join the group so I thought I’d send it again just in case. If you already received it then please disregard. I have lived in England for just about 10 years and still do but I am originally from North Dakota in the USA. I have a confirmed diagnosis of EDS hypermobility (with possibly vascular – waiting on getting genetics test), POTS and dermatographia and I am in the process of MCAD (I have had since I was young all the flushing, drugs have adverse effects, rashes etc – I just took a month of 360mgs/day antihistamines but they made me worse so hopefully I will get mast cell stabalisers next) and dysautonamia is in process as well.

    I have really enjoyed your blog and you have been so helpful to a lot of people and I think I may be able to provide info on one of your symptoms if you haven’t had any luck yet with the coated tongue. I saw that you mentioned this in your Immunology list of symptoms but since that was such an earlier post I didn’t know if it would be best to respond to a current post (I have never been on a blog before….) I have a constant coated tongue and so does my brother (he has all of the above issues just like me). Through my experience this coating has to do with muscle knots/trigger points. One time a few years ago before the EDS diagnosis I had always had back, neck and muscles issues but as our normal story goes no known reason for any of the problems. I was sitting with a massage pillow while watching a movie and left it on my shoulders and forgot about it. A muscle knot must have given way because I knew before looking in the mirror that my tongue was clear because it didn’t feel dry/raw and my face didn’t hurt and I had tons of energy. When I looked in the mirror my tongue was clear/not coated and nice and pink. I didn’t realise that I had hypermobile joints and so the knots seized up again because of the bad posture as a result of EDS. I’ve realised that as I have been doing physio and correcting the bad posture positions due to the hypermobile joints my tongue clears up to only leave 25% coated. Then when I don’t keep the correct posture because it is extremely difficult my tongue gets the thick coating again. I haven’t been able to pop the knot entirely of my own accord because it is difficult to keep the correct posture but I am working at it! I first thought it was possibly backed up lymphatic fluid but I had a lymph scan and actually my lymph system is working overtime/really well to try to deal with the histamine response and fluid which causes vacular permeability. So if it wasn’t lymph flid I believe it may be lactic acid built up in the knots because the muscles are constantly working…..just my thoughts because every doctor thinks I’m crazy when I mention the coated tongue scenario but that is how the whole of all of our stories go w/ doctors and EDS, etc so I won’t go on about it!

    Thanks for your lovely blog and I hope my little bit of info helps you out in some way if just to possibly understand what might be causing the coating!
    Pam

    Like

    Reply
    1. bertieandme Post author

      Hi Pam

      Thanks so much for this. I’ve had to switch emails on the Support Group this week due to BT splitting from Yahoo and I think it’s caused some gliches which has meant I didn’t receive your email to me – many apologies for not responding to your request to join the group and I’ll add you now!

      The coated tongue info is really helpful – people alway say it’s Candida but I know it’s not. Nothing I hear seems crazy to me at this point, including it being down to knots – I have horrendous knots in my neck and upper back!

      Jak x

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Comment

