Weekly Roundup

This week found me back at my GPs surgery (after a month long wait for an appointment!) for a prescription for a Proton Pump Inhibitor (PPI) called Omeprazole.  My continuing painful reflux is getting me down and I’m now desperate enough to want to try a new drug.  The good news is that if I react badly to it I have the option of increasing my H2 blocker Tagamet, so all is not lost.  I do have a reaction every time I take a Tagamet tablet (which is 3 times a day) but thankfully so far it’s calmed down after about 30 mins and it’s the price I have to pay to keep my stomach acid in check.  I just wish I didn’t have to take any drugs at all as I am now so phobic about meds it’s a daily battle not to be petrified every time I put a tablet in my mouth (for those unaware of my reactions, I can take a drug for years and then suddenly become allergic all out of the blue so taking any drug is simply a game of Russian Roulette).

I’m also facing the start of root canal treatment on a back molar on Monday, so am looking forward to that like a hole in the head.  If it goes badly I’m just going to have the tooth pulled and put up with the gap, which thankfully is right at the back so shouldn’t be visible but might impact on how well I can chew!

I’ve had a bad week for migrainy heads, currently being on day 3 of a thumper.  I’m not sure whether it’s a migraine or just a crappy headache, which feels like it’s right at the centre of my brain.  It’s making me quite nauseous though, so maybe it is a migraine.  My nose is also really stuffy and my sinuses are sore, so maybe it’s pollen related being as though the weather is nice.  Whatever the cause I’m now ready for it to jog on.

Yesterday we had a rare sunny, warm spring day here in the north of England so my Dad, my dog and I went to a local bluebell wood where the flowers are all currently in bloom.  My dad dropped me off with my camera, so that I could take some photos for an hour, while he carried on walking with Bertie.  The forest was spectacular and the few snaps I managed to get in the short space of time can’t possibly do it justice – it was worth going for the scent alone 🙂  I had a fabulous time………….until I slipped, put my hand out to save myself, bent 2 fingers right back and managed to sprain them and strain my wrist joint – what a clutz!  My finger is now incredibly painful and strapped up, which is making typing this tricky.  It was still worth it though to see one of nature’s most beautiful sights 🙂

Photo of bluebell wood Cumbria

Photo of Miniature schnauzer in bluebells

 

 

6 thoughts on “Weekly Roundup

  1. Jill Jarvis

    Gorgeous!! Also helps that Bertie is a born model 🙂 . Sorry to hear you’re going through so much with the reflux. I’m one for that as well. Not fun! Good luck Monday. Had a root canal years ago with no problem but since then when the M.E. is much worse I have had to have a few back teeth pulled. In my case due to panic attacks. Hope yours is a much better success. I’ll keep my fingers crossed. Love Jill

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. kneillbc

    I’m jealous of your ability to go to the woods when everything is blooming. I’d be an anaphylactic blob if I tried that right now- I can be outdoors for max five minutes right now! I love the photos though, and your description sounds entirely magical! How beautiful! That said, I am NOT at all jealous of your having to have a root canal. Oh, I do hope Monday doesn’t go too badly! I’ve got my fingers crossed for you, and I hope it goes quickly and smoothly. Who knows, it might help alleviate that headache- after all, a sore tooth is a good reason to have a nasty headache! Try your best not to tense up over it (Ha! Easier said than done!!!), and I hope that the discomfort is short-lived, and you don’t have any setbacks from it.

    I’m also sorry to hear about your hand- it’s just your body’s ironic way of distracting you from your tooth…. 😉

    Like

    Reply
    1. bertieandme Post author

      LOL Karen – why couldn’t my body distract me with a tub of Ben & Jerry’s instead?! 😉

      Sorry to hear you’re suffering with the pollen – to be so allergic must be a total nightmare :-(. I have a Birch allergy, so maybe spending a whole hour in a birch forest wasn’t my best plan, but I can cope so long as I’m dosed up on antihistamines. Saying all that I was really ill yesterday and couldn’t get out of bed, so I think the combination of pollen overload and walking too much taking pictures wasn’t a great idea – but it was still worth it 😉 x

      Like

      Reply
  3. Bendyneck

    Hi, I’ve been flowing your blog for a while now, as a fellow HEDS sufferer but with many many other symptoms too. I have been doing lots of research myself as people in our position do, and I have recently found this:- http://www.mthfrheds.com/ and I wondered if you had come across MTHFR yourself, if not you might find it very interesting. I have also found many medical papers on MTHFR and gene mutations which can disrupt the methionine cycle, but this blog seems to connect the dots with HEDS, MCAD and the myriad other stuff we all seem to suffer with in such random combinations and severity. I hope you find it interesting, keep up the good work with your blog, all the best M

    Like

    Reply
    1. bertieandme Post author

      Thanks for the comment – sorry it’s taken a few days to reply. I’m aware of MTHRF but not read up on it to any great extent – I think it’s quite an in-depth subject and my life seems so busy I’ve not had chance to follow it up. It’s def on my “list of things to do” though! Jak x

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Comment

