New Recipes

I did it!  I finally managed to create a crunchy carob biscuit, although I had to use oats and didn’t really want to (sometimes oats and I don’t get along too well, but so far these biscuits aren’t causing me any problems).  To get them a nice, round, thin shape I press each ball of mixture into a 7cm/3″ cookie cutter although flattening the mixture with your hand will work just as well.  Kept in an airtight container in the fridge (due to the high butter content) these stay crunchy for a week or longer (recipe in the dessert’s section)!  Mmmmmmmmm.  Instead of adding carob chips next time I’m going to experiment with substituting some of the flour for carob powder and will let you know how it turns out.  I’ve also been meaning to mention for ages that if you’re making your own carob chips and don’t want to use butter, coconut oil should work just as well, and if you don’t want to add sugar, 1 tblsp honey should work fine.

photo of crunchy carob biscuits

My next scrummy recipe is for vegetable spring rolls, which have made a welcome addition to my lunch menu.  They’re floppier than bought spring rolls, so handle with care, but really are tasty and full of nutritious veggies.  I like them dunked in my home-made sweet chilli dipping sauce.  Recipe in the lunch section.

Photo of vegetable spring roll

I’ve tried making mayonnaise 3 times in the past: twice with a jug blender and once with a stick blender, but despite adding the oil drop by drop I’ve never gotten it to set!  But I’ve found a fool-proof recipe courtesy of Gordon Ramsey which makes the mayo in a food processor, and it worked first time yayy!  Great for egg mayo sandwiches, potato salad and coleslaw amongst other things 🙂 .  This recipe makes quite a lot of mayo, a whole jar, and as mayo doesn’t keep long in the fridge you might want to reduce the recipe to 2 eggs and reduce the oil.  The recipe also makes a very thick mayo, and if you like it runnier just add more oil – recipe in the Sauces section.

Photo of mayonnaise

I thought I’d make some savoury sweet potato muffins for lunch, although the recipe I chose actually made more of a gooey, sweet, snack muffin – what the hell, they tasted lovely so I’ll have them for pudding instead ;-).  These are sweet potato (or squash) & nut (or sweetcorn) Muffins – recipe in the Desserts section and scroll down.

Photo of Squash & nut muffinsThe other delicious junk-food substitute meal I made recently was a chip (French fry) and egg oven-baked fry-up, but sadly I was so hungry I just ate it and didn’t get round to taking a photo 😉  Recipe is up on the blog though in the Main course section and I promise to do a picture next time I make it!

While I’m on the subject of food, I just thought I’d pass along some ingredient substitution tips for recipes which contain foods high in histamine:

  • For soy sauce I substitute tamarind paste.
  • For a tin of tomatoes I substitute an 8oz jar of my tomato-free or red pepper sauce.  For tomato puree I thicken my red pepper sauce with a little cornflour mixed to a paste with water.
  • For vinegar I either substitute water in equal quantities (sometimes this is fine, depending on the recipe), or lemon juice if I know a very acidic taste is needed (for 1 tblsp vinegar I only use 1 tsp lemon juice, taste, and add more if needed).
  • For sultanas/currants, in things like a risotto or curry, I substitute fresh diced mango.
  • For curry powder I substitute dried turmeric or cumin.
  • For cinnamon & nutmeg I substitute ground ginger.

 

 

2 thoughts on “New Recipes

  1. carolyn

    Hello,
    You are so sweet to put all these recipes up for us to use. My son was recently diagnosed with MCAS and POTS and his physician suggested we try antihistamine diets. I love your recipes and I thank you for all your wonderful information.

    May God bless you,

    Carolyn

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Comment

