Christmas Wishes

2013 has been quite a year one way and another.  Health-wise it began with researching mast cell disease.  In April I started my low histamine diet which, within a few months, thankfully saw an end to my awful reactions after eating.  I also started this blog, simply to pass on any information I gathered to other people as I didn’t know anyone else who was unlucky enough to have all the diseases from which I sufferxmas candle.  June saw me travel 70 miles to Preston to see an NHS Immunologist who gave me several disjointed diagnoses but not the mast cell one I was looking for.  And the year has ended with my appointment in London and my diagnosis of both Histamine Intolerance (which was completely unexpected) and Mast Cell Activation Disorder.  It’s been quite a journey and, now I have not one, not two, but three illnesses, a journey which I hope isn’t repeated any time soon!

I’m exhausted.  For someone with M.E. all the travelling and researching has really taken its toll.  It’s been an emotional rollercoaster too, not least because I’m now in peri-menopause and am having a second bash at puberty – I wasn’t impressed first time round and am finding it no easier to deal with just because I’m now a grown up!  My wish for 2014 is that it’s peaceful, relaxing and I’m well enough to enjoy my hobbies, leisure time and walks with my little dog.

I’m taking a few weeks off from my blog over the holidays.  My brain needs a rest and I think I need some time to get my head around everything that’s happened this year.  I’d like to take this opportunity, though, to thank you all for faithfully reading all my sad, excited, frustrated, sarcastic and I hope sometimes informative posts; for taking the time and energy to comment when I know to do so often robs you of precious energy which could be used for other things; for your encouragement when I felt like giving up; and for sharing in my journey.  I hope I’ve helped you as much as you have all helped me, and I’m grateful from the bottom of my heart for your friendship and support.   I’d like to leave you with a little Christmas ditty (sung to the tune of Once in Royal David’s City) and my wish for better health for all of us in 2014.  See you in the New Year!

Once in snowy North West England,
Lived a lonely, country girl
Mast cells that were sorely rampant
histamine that made her hurl
Jak she was that poorly child
M-CAD was that illness vile.

Subluxations sent to try her
Joints all wandering out of place
Splints and braces plus her scooter
helped her join the human race
Jak she was that poorly childmistletoe
E.D.S that illness vile

Nervous system that was crazy
Pins & needles all the time
She would kill to just get tipsy
she’s allergic to the wine
Jak she was that poorly child
POTS doth make an illness vile

She is tired beyond all reason
Half her life is spent in bed
That Hugh Jackman is her Carer
fantasies just in her head
Jak she is that poorly child
M.E. is an illness vile.

Tests that show she’s truly sickly
To the city she has gone
Blows a raspberry at the doctors
who all said there’s nothing wrong
Jak she is that poorly child
It’s confirmed, now she can smile!

merry xmas

5 thoughts on “Christmas Wishes

  1. Sherry

    I wish you the best of holidays. Much love and joy. Hang a shining star upon the highest bow of whatever you wish for yourself. Have a grand exit from this year and a peaceful hopeful one into the next. I look forward to your posts in the future but, if the blog becomes too much, which I hope it never does, but in case it does…we will understand. I feel like you are my new friend across the pond (hope that doesn’t creep you out – lol). I may be on disability and only able to work at my writing for minutes in a day, at a turtle’s pace going backwards, I am enjoying every creative bit and… when I am finished, when I am published, when the novel is successful (ha ha! gotta dream big!)… and a movie is in the making… with Hugh Jackman casted… tee hee, guess who’s coming to your house to wait on you! Cheers, Sherry

    Like

    Reply
    1. bertieandme Post author

      I’ll have the kettle at the ready for a brew, and make sure I’ve at least had a shower that day in case Hugh doesn’t like the smelly, unkempt tramp look lol! Happy Christmas x

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Comment

