A post of thanks

In case you haven’t noticed, I’m a bit northern.  I don’t go round hugging trees, can be a bit sarky and swear far too much to be ladylike.  I’m also not religious, and don’t think my illness has brought me many blessings.  Rather than the things it has taught me, I’d prefer to have been healthy for the last 20 years and remain in blissful ignorance.  I would not be on Oprah’s Christmas card list 😉

That’s not to say, however, that I am not thankful.  Some days more than others it’s easier to be appreciative for all that I have, and today is one of those days.  So this is a post about thanks.

  1. I am thankful to you, my fabulous, inquisitive, informative visitors and followers.  Some time during the night my blog received its 50,000th hit.  To say I am blown away is the understatement of the century.
  2. I am thankful to Elizabeth over at the Rag and Bone Shop of the Heart blog for nominating me for my first blogging award 🙂  I was choked that someone would think my blog worthy of mention, and I am grateful all the work that goes into this blog has been recognised (I’m getting used to eating cold food after I’ve spent 10 minutes getting a photo of my latest low histamine meal!).
  3. My body does a lot badly, but it also does a few things exceptionally well.  I am thankful that, despite the immense stress and illness of the past 20 years, the fact I never sleep more than 3 hours at a time and that I’m rapidly approaching 50, my skin is absolutely beautiful.
  4. I’m thankful I only ever get hives on my butt where no-one can see them.
  5. I’m thankful to my metabolism, which keeps my weight to within 7lbs of what I was when I was 20.  I can puke for a week, or binge for a fortnight, and I hardly lose or gain an ounce.  Way to go!
  6. I am thankful to my insulin as, according to all the tests, my body handles sugar like a pro (I need no further excuse to eat cookies and cake!).
  7. I am thankful I have an education, without which and the research it has enabled me to do, I would never have gotten diagnosed with a single one of the 4 diseases from which I suffer.
  8. I am thankful I am not poor.  Or homeless.  Or unloved.  Or cold.  Or without electricity, clean water and sanitation.  Or living in a war torn country.  I am thankful that, as a woman, I am free to express my thoughts and opinions……..and be single.
  9. For all its myriad of faults, I am thankful for the NHS.  Having just paid £1000 for 2 consultations and a handful of blood tests, we don’t know how lucky we are to have it.
  10. I am thankful my rescue dog found me, and I him.  He is often the only living creature I speak to all day, and my only source of hugs.  He makes me laugh every day of my life.
  11. I am thankful I am no longer bedridden.
  12. I am thankful I can get dressed every day, drive a car, walk my dog, have a shower, go shopping, clean my teeth, cook a meal, watch TV, and put up Christmas decorations.  For many years all these things were beyond reach.
  13. I am sooooo thankful to Tim Berners-Lee, creator of the Internet, and good old Bill Gates, without whom my days would be devoid of stimulation, friendship, information and any kind of social interaction.  Oh, and food – seriously,  when I was bedridden, I would have starved to death without Tesco.com.
  14. I am thankful to authors the world over.  Books allow escapism into another world when mine is too much to bare.
  15. But most of all, I am thankful I am alive.  I think in particular of Sophia Mirza, Lynn Gilderdale, Emily Collingridge and all those who have lost their lives to M.E..  I also think of my good friend Johnny, who committed suicide at the age of 42 due to untreated depression.  My friend Michael, who died of a brain aneurism in his sleep aged just 24.  My friend Rachel, killed whilst cycling on her 21st birthday, and my friend Peter, who died as a result of liver disease at the age of 27.  My life isn’t as I’d hoped or planned.  But it still is life and where there’s life there is always hope of a better, healthier and happier future.
One thought on “A post of thanks

Leave a Comment

