Low Histamine Diet Part 2

It’s official: the low histamine diet sucks.  I go to bed at night deprived of my sleep inducing milky hot chocolate, and dream of Cheddar cheese and family sized bags of Starburst.

Breakfast consists of either toast and jam, or a large bowl of fresh fruit.  Which, to be fair, was what I had for breakfast pre-deprivation diet.  But it’s not quite the same, oh no.  There is simply no comparison between doorstep slices of thick, soft, white Warburtons Toasty bread with lashings of home-made strawberry jam, and yeast-free organic cardboard with bitter blueberry conserve masquerading as jam.  Or a huge bowl of bananas, melon and strawberries picked fresh from the garden, sprinkled with a liberal handful of cashew nuts (preferably laden with medicinal salt to treat my rampant dysautonomia), as against a meagre bowl of melon and mango.  I seem to be eating a shed-load of mango and we’re already falling out of love.

I’m usually ravenous by about 10am.  This would be where I would usually indulge in a huge mug of steaming tea and at least half a packet of biscuits.  Luuuurvely biscuits, preferably laden with silky chocolate or sugary cream, or on a good day both.   I never thought I’d miss the humble Jaffa Cake quite this much and I drool at the thought of dunking a McVitties half-covered digestive.  There is so little pleasure in sitting with a mug of peppermint tea and a piece of dry Scottish shortbread that for an entire week I’ve skipped the process entirely.  Consequently by 11.30am I’m so waffy from starvation I feel like I’m going to pass out.

As a pesco-vegetarian lunch was already an issue, especially as I’m never normally at home.  Years of tuna or egg mayo sanis makes lunch my least favourite meal of the day, the only saving grace being the accompanying tube of sour cream ‘n chive Pringles and a French Fancy for dessert.  However, you never know what you’ve got until it’s gone.  I currently seem to be living off eggs: hard-boiled, soft-boiled, fried, poached and scrambled.  My discovery is that, without tomato ketchup, the humble egg is really quite dull and, after 2 months, the mere thought of dry eggs astride a slice of cardboard yeast-free bread makes me feel more than a little bit sick.  A huge baked spud, with lashings of butter, and a generous dollop of baked beans and coleslaw……….now that’s what I call a lunch.

By the time dinner arrives I’m totally over the whole eating thing.  I never realised the humble tomato played such a vital role in my life and the impact its absence would have.  Yes, I’ve made a jar of passable fake tomato sauce but it’s not the real thing.  Not by a long chalk.  I defy anyone to make a decent veggie dinner without cheese or tomatoes.  Seriously, they are my new Gods.  I spent an entire week Googling “how to make cheese”, convinced that the Low Histamine Diet gurus had got it wrong and not all cheese was the devil.  Turns out, actually, that all cheese is the devil as, not only is it fermented, it’s also cultured with evil micro-organisms that do things I can’t quite work out to our mis-behaving mast cells.  Bugger.  And double bugger.  Saying goodbye to Gratin dishes is like losing a dearly cherished friend, without whom you know your life is going to be poorer in indescribable ways.

All this deprivation might be tolerable if I suddenly felt fabulous, and for a brief couple of weeks last month I felt well enough to argue that living on cardboard and veg, whilst not pleasurable, was at least bearable as it was making me feel so much more human.  Sadly, this didn’t last.  I’ve now been on the diet for 2 months and feel absolutely crap.  My sleep is still disturbed, I’m exhausted every second of the day, I still wake up feeling nauseous, and my mood has plummeted to new depths, to the point where I spent most of yesterday trying not to spontaneously sob-out-loud.  I failed miserably.  Not only that, the pins & needles which for years have been confined to my hands and feet are now having a field day, and have raucously spread to my legs, arms and head.  Consequently I feel like I live my life plugged into the mains and subjected to continuous electrocution.  And just to add insult to injury my feet are also now on fire, a new symptom I’m too tired to even be worried about.

I’m determined to stay on the diet until my Immunology appointment in June, although by then I’m truly concerned I’ll develop food aversion or anorexia (I’m already skipping meals and at times my appetite, which used to be abundant, hardly raises its tired, sickly little head).  After that, it’s anyone’s guess.  If this diet is supposed to be helping me it had better hurry up and start, other-wise our relationship is well and truly over.

6 thoughts on “Low Histamine Diet Part 2

  1. dotslady

    Hi, I’m sorry about your issues, and I hope by now you’re a bit better. I wanted to say thank you for the chuckles at your expense. I, too, am histamine intolerant, possibly having MCAS or some such, and have an addiction to Starburst. And ketchup. And taste! Low HIT can be bland to say the least, but you have such a good sense of humor about it. Have you had your genetics tested via 23andme.com? Forgive me, I found your blog by accident signing up for a WordPress account. You should join us on FB if you’re not already there: Mastocytosis: A Holistic Approach, and Histamine Intolerance (Closed for Privacy) with the apple logo. There are quite a few people from the UK in the latter group I think. I look forward to reading more of your experience when time allows. Keep taking care.

    Like

    Reply
  2. bertieandme Post author

    Hi Dotslady, thanks for taking the time to comment 🙂 Glad the post made you chuckle. There are times when my sense of humour deserts me but most of the time taking the micky out of the situation is the only way I can get by ;-). I’ve been quite naughty this week and had a) some mild cheddar cheese and b) a tinned tuna sandwich on ‘normal’ white bread. Hell they were good, but I kept waiting to be struck by lightening for being so bad LOL.

    Thanks for the facebook links – I’ll go and take a look when time, energy and brain fog allow!!

    I’ve had my genes tested at 123andme but am still waiting for the results. There are a group of Ehlers Danlos patients on the Inspire forum who are pooling their results to see if they can identify any mutant genes for the hypermobility type of EDS (which is the only type of EDS with no identified gene as yet), so I’m taking part in that. I definitely think HIT or MCAD can be hereditary, so it’ll be interesting to see what my genes show.

    Take care x

    Like

    Reply
  3. Kirsten

    Oh man it felt good to laugh like this. Your post is truly funny. I TOTALLY understand you. I’m just annoyed at not being able to figure out what foods are really a histamine problem. Just now I was trying to figure out if baked beans or potatoes would be OK since I too, have been living off gluten-free toast and ghee. Since you mentioned beans and potatoes, your site came up, but I take it you think they are a no go? And what are we supposed to eat to get vitamin C? This is really time consuming. Thanks for the good laugh. Maybe you’re going through the “healing crisis” and will be on your way to well really soon. I hope so.

    Like

    Reply
    1. bertieandme Post author

      Hi Kirsten, thanks for the comments and glad you liked the post 🙂 Re your questions: some diets say all beans (except soya and kidney beans) are OK; some say green or broad beans are OK but chickpeas, soya and kidney beans are not OK; some say no beans at all (this does my head in!). I say eat beans if they agree with you, don’t if they don’t – which sounds simple, but I’m learning is the only way to go as we all react to foods differently. It’s the tomato sauce that baked beans are in that’s a definite “no”! Fresh potatoes are fine as far as I’m concerned as they are low in histamine, so I can’t see any problem with them. But, again, you just have to try each food one at a time and see what your reaction is (some people have problems with oxylates, salicylates, tyramine, gluten etc. as well as histamine – Lord help them, I have no clue what they eat!!).

      Vitamin C shouldn’t be a problem as it’s available in many of the allowed veg and fruit, eg. peppers, broccoli, potatoes, onions, sweet potatoes, blueberries, apples, melon, mango.

      Like

      Reply
  4. chrissy

    Totally agree. Sucks and is so depressing. Affects social life, body and mind in all ways, especially when you get a massive outbreak after being so strict like today – move over Pete burns. I will give you a run for your money.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jak Post author

      I’ve been on the diet for 2 years now and enjoy my food again having found alternative ingredients for the things I can no longer eat. There are still things I miss though, chocolate being number 1 on the list!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Comment

